uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Radio Shack: Rebranding Fail

Their “Friends” Call Them The Shack ts-the-shack

So in the stupidest PR move since New Coke, Radio Shack is rebranding itself as “The Shack.”  Seriously Radio Shack?  No one wants to shop at the friggin’ Shack.  It sounds like a place where you buy cheap crap… oh wait… Radio Shack is the place where you by cheap crap.  (Hey, I ain’t judgin’… I’ve bought plenty of cheap crap from Radio Shack.)

And what’s with this “Our friends call us The Shack” business?  As Squeer! justinsloe said to me:  “Who the fuck is friends with Radio Shack?”

Besides, Radio Shack is, like, the worst shack ever.  Certainly worse than the Love Shack:

Oh, Radio Shack.

You should change your slogan to “Radio Shack: More Irrelevant than France.”  I think Mae would approve.

Source.

(Thanks to justinsloe for the tip!)

August 6, 2009 - Posted by | Culture Critic | , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I wouldn’t shop at a place called the shack. It would make me think all the merchandise is off a stolen truck or something.

    Comment by cookiebees | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. I don’t know if it’s just in Christian culture or in the South, but there’s a hugely popular book out called The Shack… It would be so strange for them to rename themselves The Shack right now. It would be like Starbucks renaming themselves Eat, Pray, Love, Starbucks.

    Meanwhile Pizza Hut is making the same mistake, with the whole “The Hut” thing. Nobody calls them that.

    Additionally (I have a lot of feelings about this apparently) it’s like when you tell someone you have a Liberal Arts degree instead of just coming out and saying you were a Clarinet major. Your store sold radio things and sundry electronic crap for my whole life, I understand it can sell electronic crap without radio things. I don’t imagine that was too much of a mental leap for anyone to make, now that radio isn’t very popular.

    WHY did I have a 10 minute rant about this. WHY am I hitting Submit.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. The Hut does kind of make sense though. If you eat there enough you’re going to become a Hut(t). Like Jabba.

    Comment by ellisbell | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. Did Pizza Hut not see Space Balls?!?

    Pizza the Hut anyone?

    Comment by TheHobo | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. Remember when UPS wanted everybody to call them “Brown?” And nobody did? There is an unspoken rule that every fourteen-year-old on the planet understands: ONE CANNOT GIVE ONE’S OWN SELF A HIP NICKNAME. Uh, not that I think “The Shack” OR “The Hut” are hip, but you know what I mean. It only worked when KFC did it because the whole country was already calling them that – they just decided to go with it.

    Kind of like if you guys all decided it would be cool to start calling me “Snake Eyes,” WHICH I WOULD NOT BE OPPOSED TO BY THE WAY, well, it’d probably catch on. If I started calling MYSELF “Snake Eyes,” however, people would be likelier to start calling me “Hamster Brain,” or “Stupid Head,” or “Shut Up.” Which, by the way, is what I will be calling Radio Shack from now on.

    Comment by Sarah | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Oops, I Shacked my pants.

    Comment by HolyChow | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  7. I used to call Long John Silvers “The John”. It wasn’t me trying to make that place hip, pretty hard to do with a clientele of roughly 85% blue-hairs, and more of a play and its name and a statement on it’s similarities to a port-a-john.

    FYI: I did nearly two years of hard labor at “The John”. I was given the “hip” nickname “Princess of Slaw” by a family friend because I had to mix the dry components with the wet components in a giant tub with my hands. Oh the good old days.

    Comment by oilybohunk7 | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  8. obh: the mental picture of anyone mixing slaw with their hands made me laugh. thanks.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  9. Sarah, you can’t even SUGGEST a hip nickname. It has to be bestowed upon you by your hip friends, as a result of you being oh-so-hip.

    Fun fact about blue-hairs:
    Older people have bluish hair because their eyesight is failing. They begin to see everything with more of a yellow tint then before, and they don’t know this is happening. When they dye their hair themselves, they put in more blue tint than necessary to compensate.

    Comment by WhoMee | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  10. I was thinking about nicknames for myself. I would not like to be called, “The Cook”. It might give my children the wrong idea about expecting 3 meals a day.

    Comment by cookiebees | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  11. You’re welcome AA!

    Thanks for the fun fact WhoMee, I love random trivia!

    Comment by oilybohunk7 | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  12. I will totally be calling Sarah, “Snake Eyes” just because it made me laugh.

    P.S. I’m pretty sure all the Radio Shacks up here in the Great White North were renamed The Source a few years back or maybe that’s just in my province. Or maybe I’m smoking “shack.”

    Comment by rumoUr | August 6, 2009 | Reply

  13. I spent 20 minutes scrolling through comments, trying to figure out why we were calling Sarah “Snake Eyes.”

    I saw the note about someone’s dog crapping the stone floors and I had created a complex backstory about crap and the game “craps” and Sarah throwing Snake Eyes. This is better, though.

    bfm – Eat, Pray, Love, Starbucks had me snorting.

    Comment by SeaKat | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  14. that was STM’s dog. (heh)

    also…

    oh shit, I forget.

    p.s. I have a problem with the movie “taken”. because liam neeson doesn’t look like that kid from growing pains.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | August 8, 2009 | Reply

  15. I have a friend from law school who nick names me “stank ass” which was short for “stank ass bitch.”.

    you’d be surprised at how endearing I really find it! Ls me OL everytime. He tried to nickname his (now) wife bushpig. unsurprisingly, she wasn’t having it. it wasn’t meant in a mean way and i can still see the look on her face when he unveiled that name. ha!

    Comment by stopthemadness | August 8, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

