uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

People Have To Be Forced To Use Common Sense

Texting while driving makes angels lose their wingstext

How many times a day do you see someone weaving around while driving ten miles per hour because they are on their phone texting away? I see it at least ten times a day, and each time I see it the person gets the horn followed by the finger. Once I saw someone drive into a pole while texting. I can’t understand for the life of me why someone would distract themselves like that while operating a two ton machine. Maybe they don’t care about their safety, but what about the people around them? The government agrees with me so they are trying to pass a law that requires states to ban texting while driving to avoid losing their highway funds. I like it when I find a law I can agree with. People who almost kill me because they are texting are assholes.

July 29, 2009 - Posted by | News You May or May Not Use | ,

12 Comments »

  1. If you think their driving is bad when they’re texting, you should see how much worse it is when they’re sexting!

    Comment by Cristal Methodd | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. Isn’t that what red lights are for?

    Comment by TheHobo | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hobo what are red lights are for, texting or sexting¡¿¿

    Comment by chelsea | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. They’ve banned it in my state already. Take whatever risks you want when it only affects you, but pull your head out and drive when you’re in traffic. You’re not going to be crashing into your own car, and that text isn’t more important than anyone or anything else on the road. That level of self-absorption drives me crazy.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. I only text at red lights.

    Comment by XENU | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. I don’t sext, I only text, and the extent of it is “traffic, eta…”

    But really, that’s what red lights are for. You’re stopped, you have a moment to kill. If you have to say something, say it then.

    Or else pull over. I’ve done that too.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Of course red lights are for sexting. I mean hell, some places have an entire red light district. And what happens there?

    Comment by baby fish mouth | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. Good point baby fish mouth

    Comment by chelsea | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. TheHobo: I’m talking about the people who do it with the device semi-perched, along with both of their hands on top of the steering wheel, just texting away while they drive with their wrists, barely looking at anything other than their blackberry, iPhone,whatever. People do it all the time and it makes me want to bite their arms off.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  10. yeah, those people annoy me.

    I’m also annoyed by people on their little bluetooth thingamajiggers who talk on them really loudly while in stores or walking down the street. I always have to try to figure out if they are talking to me.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  11. Uggh, I’m addicted to texting and even I don’t do it while driving. That’s insane. I saw a girl plow her SUV into the front of a bar because she was drunk/texting. Like somehow drunk driving wasn’t enough of a challenge for her, she also had to drunken text. Good call.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | July 29, 2009 | Reply

  12. Yesterday I was reaching for my soda while driving and looked up to see a large DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE sign. For a split second I felt really guilty and nearly spilled my Coke. Then I realized they were refering to another kind of drinking which, in turn made me think about exactly what drunk driver is lucid enough to read that sign AND think “Hey, I bet they wrote that for me! I better pull over.”

    I mean really, can anyone name a time that these signs did any good? All the drunks I know are not exactly persuaded by this kind of passive insistence on the greater good.

    Comment by Rev. Random | July 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

