uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Food For Thought

Time Slip Edition

tardis

I love hypothetical questions. There’s nothing better than hearing what people would do if they were put in certain situations or given certain opportunities. I find these kind of questions always lead to the most entertaining and enlightening conversations. With that being said, I now ask you:

If you could live in any period of time which would you choose?

July 15, 2009 - Posted by | Food for Thought |

17 Comments »

  1. Hmmm. Can we know what we know now? I mean, could I invent gravity BEFORE Sir Isaac Newton gets beaned by an apple?

    Never mind. They’d just burn me as a witch. I think I’ll stick with the present.

    Comment by SeaKat | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Well, the pros of now is that I get to wear pants AND vote.

    The cons of now is Paris Hilton and everyone like her.

    But baring that, I kind of likethe 1920s (only then you have to go through the depression) or the 1940s (but then you have to go through the 1950s).

    I dunno, can I go be independently wealthy and go hang out with Virginia Woolf?

    Comment by TheHobo | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. 1960’s: pants, parties, pot.

    Bonus: Timed right – I’d be young enough for the 50’s that I could get away with wearing those ridiculous poodle skirts and not look like a complete dork when I look back on pictures.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Pre-agriculture, for sure. 20 hour work week, here I come!

    and…

    YAY! for a picture of the TARDIS. My 16 month old son laughs and smiles whenever he hears the Doctor Who theme song, and that’s kinda how I felt when I saw the picture.

    Comment by Skaði | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love the question! Being a history buff and also being a black women choosing a time where I could live freely from an intellectual perspective would prove difficult.

    If none of that mattered, I would live in Jane Austens’ time, were manners ruled the world 🙂

    Comment by Meeky | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. I would choose the late 1930s-1950s if I could be Ray Eames.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. meeky-

    i too always have to qualify such answers with a race caveat.

    i would love to have been a white woman in the 20s. boozin’ and wearin’ flapper dresses and not having to worry about being lynched.

    WIN.

    i love jane austen, but no electricity is a problem. 🙂

    i love the golden age of hollywood too. but again, i would want to be white so i didn’t have to work in the kitchen.

    being a black woman in 2009 is aces.

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  8. stm,

    Good point with the electricity. But I think I would survive with reading Shakespeare and would really get into some poetry.

    We could be Lana Horne and Billie Holiday…

    Comment by missmeeky | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  9. The mid 1800s. So all I’d have to worry about was people stealing my cattle and dying of dysentery.

    Comment by Mae | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  10. true. i wouldn’t mind being billie holliday. but i bet she still got a lot of shit from the white man! stupid white man!

    🙂

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  11. If you want to be Billie Holiday you haven’t read her autobiography, Lady Sings the Blues. She was raped as a child, thrown out at 13 because she was pregnant, eventually turning to prostitution at age 15, did jail time for a drugs charge at the pinnacle of her career, had a terrible drug and alcohol addiction and was involved in a series of abusive relationships before dying at 44 from cirrhosis of the liver.

    Billie’s life was shit, and that’s probably why no one could sing the blues like she could. She made you feel the pain she felt.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  12. I’ve given this a lot of thought. My appendix burst when I was 9, and my lung collapsed from pneumonia when I was 15. Also, my vision, uncorrected, is 20/450 – no joke. So if I’m stuck with my own body – I think I need to stay with modern medicine.

    But let’s say I have nothing more than minor colds and the occasional stubbed toe. When, then?

    I’m a weenie, so the pioneer days are out. I’d have died on the Oregon Trail from dysentery.

    Maybe the 1940s, but WWII was a bummer. (Yeah, understatement, eh?) Plus in order to be an adult in the 40s, I’d have to live through the 30s as TheHobo pointed out. My parents lived through The Depression, and it scarred their psyches, but good. No thanks.

    I hear ya about the 60s, AdAd, but I think all those earnest hippies would annoy the fuck out of me.

    Me to hippie: “You guys just end up selling out like everyone else and you end up being an entitled bunch of wankers whining about not being able to retire at 65 because like it’s your God-given right and not a recently new phenomenon.”

    Hippie: “Whoa. That is soooo negative, man.”

    Hanging w/ Jane Austen has much appeal, but I could never negotiate all of those manners. We live in an era when you can tell people to fuck themselves and no one blinks an eye. Back then, you were drummed out of polite society if you tried to enter a room before someone with higher “precedence” than your own. I don’t think I could hack it – you’d have to be born into it.

    Ok, the 1950s studio system in Hollywood, if I can be Elizabeth Taylor and do every hottie I want. Only this time I won’t marry them.

    Final answer.

    Comment by SeaKat | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  13. I like Seakat’s answer. Especially to the hippies.

    I am openly nominating that for a BIS. Why? Because it’s my birthday, bitches! And I do what I want! (Until midnight.)

    Comment by Mae | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  14. SeaKat makes a valid point about the hippies. Fucking sell-outs.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  15. This sounds like a gross question, but what did women wear/use back in the day when they were on thier period? Not to be gross, but seriously? Call me crazy, but I don’t want to live in a world where I have to walk around with a gigantic pillow in my crotch or if I’m pregnant have to hide it due to “the shame”.

    Comment by blah | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  16. Blah – depends upon the era and the region, I think.

    I *believe* that some used strips of absorbent leather and others used cotton rags. They would wash them and reuse them every month.

    I took a women’s study course and one of our books was called “The Curse – A Cultural History of Menstruation.” I keed you not. It was very interesting, actually. Do you know that there is a myth (the book attributed it to Africa, but I no longer remember where in Africa) that if a man ingested some of a woman’s blood from her special time, that he would become hopelessly in love with her?

    Anita Diamant’s Red Tent is a fabulous look at Dinah, from Genesis in the bible. The red tent refers to the place where women who were on their periods would stay until their period ended and they were “clean” again. Although it sounds like a punishment, when you think about it: women who live in close proximity tend to get on similar cycles. And if you’re secluded in a tent, you’re not doing the back-breaking labor that came with living in biblical times. So really, not such a bad deal after all.

    Anyhoo, more than you probably wanted to know…

    Comment by SeaKat | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  17. I would have loved to have been a Samurai in the 1800’s I know they got wiped out but they died with honor and they faced their enemies with swords against guns. Samurais were true warriors, honorable and for a warrior there is no greater trait than honor. Or I would have lived in the time of conquistadors, I’m all about an adventure against all odds. Enduring months on a boat only to land in a whole new land where I’m pitted against nature and natives and end up conquering everything.
    Childish I know, but still us men have it easy these days with navigation systems and automatic weapons and electric razors. Back then you relied on your brains and brawn got the gold and the hot native girl.

    Comment by drgnsldr | July 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

