uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

‘arry Potter

Half-Blood Prince (now with more pubic hair) ts-harry-potter-and-the-half-blood-prince-03

Well, shoot.  I haven’t even read Half-Blood Prince yet.  I started it a year ago and got about halfway through.  But having read books 1-5 in about two weeks, I was suffering an acute case of Over- Potter Syndrome.  Then I got sidetracked by Twilight. Then I got sidetracked in the middle of Eclipse and started reading old Stephen King novels. And then I got sidetracked in the middle of Christine by eleventy DVRed hours of So You Think You Can Dance.

What’s the point?  Well, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince opens today, and I can’t decide whether to finish the book or just go see the damn movie.

And, needless to say, fans are acting the fool, and lining up at theaters to go see the movie wearing dumbass pointy hats, thereby making it impossible for anyone sitting behind them to see the fucking screen.  Thankfully, however, the Potterheadz don’t seem to be as fucking insane as the Twi-hards (as our friend Lainey at Lainey Gossip likes to call them.)  I haven’t seen any girls trying to publicly rape Daniel Radcliffe.  I guess there’s no need to, though, considering you can already find nakey pictures of old man Radcliffe (seriously, what the hell?  He’s all growns up!) from his Broadway turn in Equus.

ts-daniel-radcliffe

So tell us, what are your Potter plans?  Are you obsessed?  Have you read all the books?  Do you give exactly not one shit?  How do you feel about Radcliffe’s happy trail?  We at Thundersquee! are dying to know.

July 15, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrity Shenanigans, Movie Marquis | , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I’m impressed you made it through 5 books. I did finish Twilight. I’m reading Shakespeare right now though, yeaux (shout out to Cait). 🙂

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. I read them all at least twice. More than twice for the first few books.

    They are certainly better written than the Twilight series.

    And I can’t think of ANYONE in any of those movies whose happy trails I have any desire to see. Put yer clothes back on, you kids!!!

    ::shakes wizened fist, pops teeth back into glass on nightstand::

    Comment by SeaKat | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m seeing it on Saturday, and normally I’m there opening night, but…this year was kinda weird. So, Saturday.

    I just watched the last movie again in preparation for the new one.

    But man those “kids” are grown up! Have you seen Hermione lately? At least she looks classy and grown up…good stylist.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. I love the Potter books. They just got better with time, more grim to be precise, and the writing is superb. I can’t stand the movies, though. I couldn’t understand how they got away with leaving certain things out in the last one. Even though the atmosphere was somewhat dark, giving the movie some resemblance to the book, it was like making the Lord of the Rings and forgetting to mention the One Ring.

    I still see Radcliffe as a kid, so I’m not interested in viewing him naked.

    Comment by Skaði | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’ll read the Potter books. Later. I didn’t quit reading them for lack of enjoyment – life got in the way. 🙂 SO, once I purchase all 50 billion books on my Amazon Wish List, I’ll probably start picking up the Potter books. I’ll want to read them with my son when he’s a little older anyway.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. I thought the last 2 books were, by far, the best. I don’t think it matters so much to finish the book before seeing the movie, but, you should definitely read the last book before the other 2 movies come out. It has some surprises.
    Anyways, I’m going tonight. I don’t think my daughter can last another day.
    Hobo, she has watched “The Order Of The Phoenix” every day for the past week.

    Interesting bit of trivia: Robert Pattinson played Cedric Diggory in “The Goblet Of Fire.”

    Comment by ellisbell | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. I’m in the minority here — I don’t give one shit.

    I watched a bit of one of the films once and it occurred to me that the milieu, characters, story and other elements are all so non-cohesive. It just seemed like a jumble of random fantasy things, thrown together in a hodgepodge.

    Comment by WhoMee | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  8. finish the book today, then see the damn movie. unless you have a job.

    Comment by nutterz | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  9. robert pattinson is hot. i know that makes me a child molester (or at least a cougar), but there. i said it.
    just go see the movie already. you’re so twothousandandeight, and the books are so twothousandandlate. 😛
    and lookie! i read your blog!

    Comment by Mme Marbles | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  10. thank you, Mme Marbles!!!

    and thank you, fergie!

    and i agree. r.patz makes me want to do naughty things to him.

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 15, 2009 | Reply

  11. r.patz makes me want to scrub him down with a bottle of Lysol and a wire brush. And not in a Rule 34 kind of way, either.

    Comment by SeaKat | July 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

