uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Video Thunderdome!

Too Ra Loo Edition ts-thunderdome1

Okay, folks. I have no precedent for this particular Thunderdome, except that this song makes me happy in my pants.

Let me tell you a little about it, kids. I first heard this song in 1982, at the tender age of eight, and immediately wanted to A) dance and sing and do whatever eight year olds do when they’re so happy they could ‘splode, B) learn how to play the fiddle and C) make that weird guy who sings it – whom I will always know as “Dexy” but whose name is really Kevin Rowland – fall in love with me and re-christen me “Eileen.” What. I’M IRISH. It totally could’ve happened.

Fast forward fifteen years to 1997- now I’m a 23 year old girl, who has been heavily influenced by The Specials, Fishbone, the Mighty Mighty Bosstones, et cetera. Ska, in any form – even the “pop” kind, made me pogo my panties off. So I’m out at a club in little Portland, Maine and all of a sudden I’m hearing the familiar strains of “Come On Eileen” – EXCEPT THIS VERSION’S SKA!
What do I do? Which one do I pick? CAN THERE BE ONLY ONE “COME ON EILEEN?”

And that is why I’m here now. I’m putting them in the Thunderdome, people. YOU’RE gonna have to choose WHICH ONE WILL COME OUT ALIVE.

Oh! And there’s a bonus! I have something special to post when the winner is declared. IF YOU CAN CHOOSE ONE!

First up: DeeeeEEEEEEXY’S MIDNIGHT RUNNNNNNERS!

AaaaAAAAnd the contender, SaaaaAAAAVE FERRRRRRRIS!

[poll id=”52″]


July 10, 2009 - Posted by | Video Thunderdome! | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. That’s tough I love them both, but I’m gonna have to go with the original.

    Comment by TT2 | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. The first time I remember seeing the original video…was on on Pop Up Video. Which they really need to bring back!

    Plus, I just love Save Ferris.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. I voted Dexy, but the Save Ferris version was nothing to sneeze at.

    Also: She was Gwen Stefani before Gwen was, and she was better at it too.

    Also also: If they would bring back Pop Up Video, my entire life would become worthwhile. I hated losing that show!

    Comment by baby fish mouth | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. I like them both. So I had to go w/the original.

    Sarah – ska!!! I lived in Boston from 89-94, and I went to SO many Bosstones shows! Did you like Bim Ska la Bim?

    I actually met Rankin’ Roger and some of the other guys from Special Beat (the English Beat/Specials project) in a coffee shop in Kenmore Sq. My friend and I were dressed in the full ska regalia (8-hole docs, black thigh-high opague tights w/cut off denim shorts & tank tops…we thought we were hot stuff!HA!) The guys called us over, chatted w/us and put us on their guest list for the show. AWESOME show and my ONLY brush with celebrity! 🙂

    Comment by SeaKat | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. Always always always the original.

    Comment by Cristal Methodd | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. I like the original because it makes me think of my dad and all his goofy puns about the name Eileen.

    Why? ‘Cause one leg is longer than the other. Budum cha.

    Comment by payter | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. I gotta go with the new version. I would’ve voted for the original but in the Save Ferris version, at the break where she sings up against the pole — Outstanding.

    Comment by pam | July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

