uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random-dome!

Catch Us Up on You

lolpred

Here at Thundersquee!, we believe in freedom of speech and self-expression. To show you just how much we believe, we’ve decided to give you a little corner where you can spew forth whatever happens to pop into your mind. Angry? Tell us about it. Happy? Shout it from the rooftops. Drunk as hell? Write an incoherent rant that nobody will understand. There’s only one rule: If you have to fight amongst yourselves, leave the shivs and chains at home.

July 10, 2009 - Posted by | Random-dome! |

37 Comments »

  1. Im in Wisconsin working with some National Guard guys. My work day starts at 7:00 am and last night it didn’t end until 9:00pm. I’m so fecking exhausted. Today was a half day which is about all the time off I’ll get until the 18th. Kill me in the face right now.

    Comment by blah | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. it’s 5 pm and i am just now eating lunch. people be needin’ lawyers and shit.

    i ordered a burrito and asked the woman who works at la salsa “are these new burritos good?” she said “delicious.”

    i said “don’t you lie to me, bitch.”

    i didn’t really say that, but i totally could have.

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. I am watching my mind-numbingly cute son dancing/wriggling in his high chair to the “Sandtown Children of Praise” (think Jackson 5 with age appropriate lyrics for little kids to sing about God) and otherwise cracking himself up.

    His cuteness is the salve to all that is wrong in the world.

    Comment by Rev. Random | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. “sandtown children”?

    that’s racist!

    🙂

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’m jellissss! A greasy, gooey burritto covered in cheese and sour cream sounds amazing! I saw a giant burritto last night on Man V. Food and since then that is all I can think of. I’ve been living off of trail mix, banana’s and Subway sandwiches for the past week. At least I’ve lost a little weight out of all this.

    Comment by blah | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. No, they’re actually from the Sandtown-Winchester community in Baltimore. The group has since disbanded but the cover is a picture of the choir: 32 black kids and 1 lonely white boy.

    Comment by Rev. Random | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. I just ate a LOT of ice cream (or whatever that Edy’s/Dryer’s slow churned stuff might be). Had one bowl and went back for more…
    I would like to kick a couple of cows in the udders for making ice cream sooooo good.

    Rev. Random – little kids wriggling in their highchairs are awesome! I have one who does that too. To any music. Actually to any sound. Quite funny to watch!

    Comment by payter | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  8. i went on a date last weekend. it wasnt great but it was fun. i am going on a date with someone different this weekend. it’s going to be awful, trust. i know, why would i go? but i’m trying to not get rusty on dating. also it’s affirming to realize a lot of other people are insane. bfm goes on dates. spread the word. tell your man-friends.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  9. i just ate a meers burger. it was delicious. while on a date! with my husband! we had fun but my kid was still crazy when i picked him up. i was hoping daycare would fix him up somehow.

    i remember the days when every friday was date night. live it up bfm!

    Comment by lava | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  10. I just woke up from a really long nap. Now I won’t be able to fall asleep tonight. Also, I’m cat-sitting my brother’s cat and she has been hiding under my bed the whole time. Hope she’s okay.

    blah – hope you at least enjoyed your half day today and congrats on the mini-weight loss.

    rev. random – when I’m down, I like to hang out with my two little nephews. Holding a giggling baby always cheers me up.

    stm – mmmmmm burritos! I could go for one right about now.

    payter – mmmmm ice cream AND burritos! I already hear my stomach protesting to the combination.

    bfm – I have not been on a date in ages. Sometimes it’s so much work. Who’s knows, maybe your date next week will surprise you!

    lava – glad you had fun on your date! Your son sounds like my oldest nephew. He never gets tired! It’s like when he just chills for 15 minutes, he’s recharged and ready to go go go!

    Comment by rumoUr | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  11. I’m finally unpacking the last few boxes and making the house look like a place where people actually live… We moved in here IN JANUARY. Oh, and we’re renting, so I’m really looking forward to doing this again in six months.

    The house looks pretty awesome, though.

    Comment by Sarah | July 10, 2009 | Reply

  12. I got a 3-month-old puppy on Thursday. He’s some sort of terrier mutt, which has gotta be the most indeterminate breed description ever. Jack Russell, Scotties, Airedales, Pitbulls… all terriers. So I’m looking forward to seeing what he’s going to turn into. Meanwhile, he’s 4 lbs, black, with a little bit wiry coat, big ol’ bat ears, and a little bit of the Scottie face. Mostly what he is is cuuuuuuute. He fills the dog-shaped hole in my life and makes me all warm and fuzzy with his puppy breath and big brown eyes. I’m only taking time away from cuddling with him to check out the Thundersqueeage this morning because he’s asleep.

    Comment by Roxydarling | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  13. I love it when most of the comments are good news! Except for Blah being overloaded with work stuff, that blows.

    I just found out I’m getting 10 more weeks of UE! Squee!!!! This means my ass can continue to inflate.
    Thank Mr. President. Thank you very much.

    Comment by cooter jean | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  14. Sarah – I feel your unpacking/packing pain! I had put my place up on the market, and had to totally purge all excessive furniture and crap out of my apartment to show it. Now my apartment looks all minimalist, which I like, but I moved all my crap into my parents’ garage and now I have to go to their place to collect it.

    Roxydarling – PUPPY! You will have to post a picture of it on Thundersquee!

    cooter jean – yay!

    Comment by rumoUr | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  15. i have exactly one week of being a twentysomething before i hit a whole new decade and subsequently become an official grown up.
    i’m not sure how i feel about this.

    Comment by karisitah | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  16. coming from someone who just turned 35, 30 ain’t no thang but a chicken wang.

    😉

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  17. karistah – you are still a wee little one. I, like STM, am an ancient 35. Enjoy 30.

    I am taking a class at the community college every Saturday for the summer. Today I went to lunch with a few of the girls, the oldest girl was 23. When asked my age, they were shocked I am 35. I am hoping it was more – “WOW you look great for 35!” than, “Wow, you are 35? That is old!!”

    I feel like the same girl I was in my 20s, but with a greater appreciation for my boobs.

    Comment by payter | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  18. Ditto what stm and payter said, karisitah – I’m 35, too.

    Also, 30 was one of my favorite years! Definitely in my top 5. In fact, just about everybody I know in my age bracket can say the same thing! Not to oversell it or anything, but it was magical. A whole fleet of unicorns and butterflies followed me around that year. So.

    Comment by Sarah | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  19. ha! thanks for the pep talk. i’m not one to panic and go manic about these things, but i did have a moment when i realized that 30 sounds like “grown up” and “responsibility” and “mortgage” and all those other shudder-worthy words that i’m totally unprepared for.
    also, in a drunken haze, a few friends and i calculated that that’s about 1/3 of our lives gone. over. that’s what spurred the introspection.

    alas, i’m going to shake it off, and subsequently shake a bunch more things at a music fest next weekend to celebrate my entry into adulthood.

    Sarah: are these unicorns and butterflies self sufficient? if they are going to be following me, i at least want to make sure they are well fed, but i really don’t want to waste my limited patience on whiny, needy mythical creatures.

    Comment by karisitah | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  20. i am unmarried, no kids, i still rent, and the lights went out in my kitchen in january 2008 and i have YET to replace them…

    so…

    what’s this “responsibility” thing the kids are talking about?

    🙂

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  21. karisitah: Having surpassed that milestone myself, I can say with all honesty that they don’t force you to trade in your sense of humor and passion for life in exchange for a Volvo wagon when you hit 30. You can have one if that’s what you want, but you don’t have to. Even if they did force one on you, whether you use it to tote your 2.2 kids to soccer practice or you use to to drive to Burning Man–that’s up to you. 🙂

    I think that any age really is what you make of it, and when they say age is just a number, they are correct. Personally, I’m still 12 on the inside on a good day, and 8 on an even better day. I still swing on playground swings, laugh at fart jokes and jump in puddles when the urge strikes. You may have to grow older, and it may help to mature, but how you do it is up to you.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  22. karisitah: Also, what Sarah and payter said. 30 rocks. In fact, 30s rock. In a couple years, when you’ve found homes for all the unicorns and butterflies, you will note that 20s suck in comparison.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  23. one thing to look out for…

    once you hit thirty you are REQUIRED to do the robot once a month.

    it’s a little known caveat in the back of your “So, You’re 30 Now” rulebook.

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  24. Thank you 30+ TS’ers. I’m 28 and I don’t even claim my 20s anymore. Seriously, who actually mourns the loss of their 20s? Especially their early 20s. Good lord. What a clusterfuck of 5 years.

    Although, I did get called “not young” the other day by the manager at Pier 1. My boss and I went to buy some cushions for the patio furniture at my work. While he was loading our goodies into his car, I stopped to admire an armchair that was on display.

    The manager (who was clearly in her early 50s) stopped by and said, “Isn’t that a beautiful chair?” I replied that I thought it was and mentioned that I particularly loved the fabric. She said, “Me too. But the younger girls, they really don’t like it.” And then she breezily swept past me to greet two incoming customers.

    As I stood there in her dust, I took a moment to process what had just happened. Here, I had just stopped to admire a chair. And somehow, in the course of our 25 second conversation, was robbed of my youth.

    Needless to say…I didn’t come back and buy the chair.

    Comment by shu_shu | July 11, 2009 | Reply

  25. I was used to being the young one all my life because I was always a year or more younger than everyone else. (I skipped kindergarten. Obviously a mistake, on reflection.)
    Now I work at a college and being surrounded by 18-25 year olds sometimes makes me feel OLD. I’m only 29 and I feel way older than them while not actually envying them much. I had a blast in college, but I like and know myself more the older I get.
    The trick, I’ve decided, is to get older but not actually get old. Of course, I also took a vow on my last birthday to be more open to the stupid things that will be more likely to be explained with the phrase, “I was in my twenties.” I never claimed to be a zen master.

    Comment by Roxydarling | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  26. You’re also not old, mah dear, because I’ll always be 11 months older – ergo, you can just point and laugh at me and make Old Man River jokes at any point. 🙂

    Comment by Cait | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  27. STM: the ROBOT? Damn it. I misread that memo, and all this time I’ve been stretching out the hamstrings, getting ready for the daily dose of Running Man. I’ve got 6 days to get mah moves down. Thanks for the heads up…and kitchen lights are highly overrated anyway.

    Lily: Thanks for the inspirational address. Though I’m not a terribly sentimental person, I got the warm fuzzies. I totally agree and generally like to live by the Peter Pan rule myself, but every now and again I have an attack of “am I making the right decisions/doing the right things/etc”. These attacks usually coincide with a major event or decision: hitting a new decade, moving across the globe, turning down a chance at a solid (but boring) job to be more adventurous and take something less stable…..but luckily they are short lived and I can get on with the decadence. 🙂

    shu_shu: You should totally head to a different store, buy a similar chair, and Breeze through Pier 1. When the saleslady sees you, breezily state (á la Pretty Woman) that the saleswoman made a BIG mistake and then with a look of disdain, head for the door.

    Roxydarling: I think I’m going to compile a list of those “I was in my 20s” things that I’ve done and make a point to add to it. My aunt went tandem skydiving last year with her son and his wife, me and my significant other. She did it to celebrate turning 60, and showed the video to everyone, stating “Well, I was only in my 50’s then…what did I know?” Lol.

    Cait: When all else fails, I’ll remember to do that! 🙂 I saw your wedding photos, btw. Absolutely beautiful!

    Comment by karisitah | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  28. I’m 30 and I’m having much more fun than I did when I was 25. I’m just more comfortable in my skin (well, at least on good days), more outgoing, more relaxed with other people and life in general.

    Sometimes I feel like I’m just doing what everyone else did in college — going out, meeting new friends, having fun — since I spent college studying and being generally depressed and neurotic. Sometimes I worry that I’m just immature, that I’ll be the old person at the show, that I’m refusing to grow up. Then I realize that I’m still young, dammit, and I’m definitely NOT the oldest at the show (the bluegrass band that played last night attracted a nice range of late 20’s to early 40’s — yay for being the median!).

    The one thing that sucks is that ALL of the lab techs I work with are younger than me, and they bring it up ALL. THE. TIME. I want to brick them in their sneering 28-year-old faces (Really? Two years difference and you want to make fun of the old person?!?!). At first I was fine with it — I’m not one to care about numbers, and age is truly what you make of it — but since it is brought up EVERY week, it feels like they are making fun of where I am in my professional life at this age. Never mind that I’m just doing time in that lab as I finish my Ph.D. while the rest of them haven’t even started (or won’t start ever). And never mind that I took two glorious years off of the rat race to travel and live abroad while many of them have never even left Maryland (no joke). Aargh.

    Hmmm, I guess I just turned this pleasant “Happy 30” thread into a rant — sorry! But insidious techs be damned, 30 rocks, I wouldn’t re-do my 20’s if you paid me, and happy birthday karisitah!

    Comment by Stay, see? | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  29. shu-shu I was going to go to Pier 1 today, but in honor of you, shall boycott the store. Pshaw to that lady. How unawares can you be???

    I was teaching a Body Pump class the other day, and we do an ab move that requires you to do what I call the I Dream of Jeanie arms. I placed my arms one on top of the other and shook my head at them to demonstrate. I had a bunch of blank stares (and I swear a few crickets chirped) look back at me. While I know that reference goes beyond my 35 years, surely people know I Dream of Jeanie??? Apparently not.

    I totally agree with Lily! 100%! By my daily activities (games of uno, hopscotch, coloring with chalk, jumping around with adults in classes, dancing in the living room) I would guess I am about 17 on the inside. Without the zits and fluctuating hormones.

    Comment by payter | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  30. i just spent an obscene amount of money at the bcbg turned bcbg outlet store on melrose.

    it’s not my fault! i didn’t even mean to shop! i went out to walk my dog and get an omelette and i ended up shopping and forgot about the omelette.

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  31. Stm, that’s my kind of distraction.

    Comment by shu_shu | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  32. i just spent all day in the wilderness. i saw 7 minke whales, 3 moose and a bear, some gannets and an eagle.

    i could use a good dose of bcbg about now, STM.

    Comment by karisitah | July 12, 2009 | Reply

  33. I’m 29 this year and was already told I shouldn’t feel old because of the big 3-0 that’s coming in September.

    But I am really glad to hear that my secret suspicion that 30 is way better than20s might actually be true.

    And I might be the only person in the world that has this opinion, but I tend to think women look their best after 30. I’m not big on baby faces–I like women who look settled into their bodies and their lives. I think 20-somethings are all about being hot, but after that you get to be beautiful–and it doesn’t matter how flat your abs are…or aren’t. 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | July 13, 2009 | Reply

  34. Hobo, I am 30 now, and I think I’m so much hotter at 30 (even with birthing hips) than I was at 20, because I have wisdom and grace that comes only from age.

    …but I still have a baby face. Goddamnit. 😉

    Comment by Cait | July 13, 2009 | Reply

  35. Also, Roxydarling is insanely beautiful in all ways and has no clue how awesome she is.

    I’m just feeling Teh Schmoopeh and needed to gush. 🙂

    Comment by Cait | July 13, 2009 | Reply

  36. Roxy is gorgeous and sassy in a very wry way. and she’s like a rocket scientist or something.

    So… er… WIN!

    Comment by stopthemadness | July 13, 2009 | Reply

  37. I started a new job, fought a court case against a parent and lost. Moving to a new place all while trying to write the first draft of a ten page paper for economics class and various projects for management class. Haven’t had a beer in two weeks and it will probably be a while before I can afford time or money for another one. You take the good with the bad I guess, just happy not to be stagnantly unemployed and stuck in horrible living conditions anymore. I have found out friends really are the family you choose, and I love mine for being there for me during the rough times. all in all, I’m thankful.

    Comment by drgnsldr | July 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

