uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sarah Palin Resigned

For the Good of the People

ts-soapbox

Sarah Palin has decided to step down as the Governor of Alaska to save the state all the money it is spending on investigating her for ethics violations. She has also stated that she doesn’t want to be a “lame duck” and that “one term was enough”. Please watch this video while I go look for my soap box.

OK, I’m back.

Boy, where to start. As many of you know, I am extremely liberal. On most issues I’m so far to the left that I start to wrap back around. I’m so far left when I stick my head out my door I can see Rush Limbaugh’s house. Right now he is relaxing by his pool, popping drugs by the handful and sporting a Speedo, it’s not a pretty sight. Oh wait, I’m sorry. Rush isn’t popping drugs, he’s taking his “prescription”.

Back to Sarah. Lets talk about “One term being enough”. She was elected in 2006. Took office in January of 2007. She spent around four months running for Vice President. And now has retired with a year and a half to go on her term. Maybe my math is off, but in the two and a half years as Governor of Alaska she was only really there for about two years worth of work. I know some people will say while she was running for V.P. she was still doing her work as Governor and that is kind of true. Let’s be honest, in those months she was running for V.P. all of her attention was focused on winning and getting the hell out of Alaska. How can she claim one term was enough when she BARELY completed HALF of her first term as Governor?

Then there is the lame duck comment. Let’s face it, she became a lame duck after her first few interviews where she made a fool of herself. She can claim it was “gotcha journalism” all she wants but she was the one that made a fool out of herself by not knowing what the hell she was talking about. She couldn’t answer some simple political questions that I would expect anyone running for the White House to know, be they Democrat or Republican. She didn’t know the role of the Vice President in the Senate.  I just don’t know how she could not understand the duties of the office she was running for. I’m sure there are all sorts of duties that the V.P has that can only be learned by actually doing them, but anyone who took Government class in high school and paid attention knows the basic responsibilities of the President and Vice President.

I think she made a huge mistake here. She never should have resigned. She can play it coy now but my money is on her trying to make a run for the White House in 2012. I think resigning is going to hurt her. It’s going to come off as her getting run out of politics in Alaska, and if she can’t take the heat in state politics how is she going to stand up to Washington politics. Don’t think it’s just going to be the Democrats saying that. She is going to have to make it through the pack of Republicans who all want the top spot on the ticket in November. If you think people like Mike Huckabee won’t throw her under the bus to get the Religious Reich, vote you need to take your head out of the sand.

Having said all that, I’ll say this. I would like the Republicans to field a female candidate that is actually qualified. For the most part, the government works best when power shifts back and forth. It helps to balance out the strengths and weaknesses of each party.

I would like to see a woman become President, I think it’s long overdue. I would have voted for Hillary Clinton if she got the nomination. That doesn’t mean I like everything she has done. I think she is a bitch on wheels, but she is also smart as hell. I think she’s a hell of a lot smarter than Obama. I voted for Obama and think he is doing a good job considering the mess he was handed. Mark my words, during the next elections the blame of the economy will be placed all on him, despite the fact that it all went to shit under W.

I don’t buy into voting for the person you would want to have a beer with. I want the person in the White House to be smarter than me. I don’t want someone who can give me the history of NASCAR. I want someone who understand the power structure of the Middle East and that the reason we are having so much trouble there now is because of the West’s fucking it up in the past.

By the end of the election whenever Sarah Palin came on my TV, I would hit the mute button. I just couldn’t take anymore of her down home “gosh don’t’cha know” (wink) bullshit anymore. She has her fans who will back her if/when she runs for President. People point to her speech at the Republican National Conventions as one of her high points where she really shined. I would argue that anyone can come off looking good when speaking in front of the hardcore of their party. It happens every four years. It doesn’t matter if you’re Democrat or Republican. When the applause signs light up, people cheer like you’re the greatest politician to ever walk the Earth. The real test of politicians is holding their own away from their party base. When it came to that, Sarah Palin was a walking gaffe.

Like it or not, we are stuck with the political system we have.  It would be nice if it was more Frank Capra’s Mr. Smith Goes to Washington than Dumb and Dumber.

OK, I’ll step off my soap box now.

Please tell me there is at least ONE woman in the Republican party that can run for the White House and not come off like that. There has to be.

Source.

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | Culture Critic, Doosh Watch 2009, Politiks, The Wrath of Kahn | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I would consider myself Republican, albeit a pretty liberal one, and I know plenty of Republicans that wouldn’t support her. If not only because of who she is or what she does, but for the fact that she won’t be able to get anything done in office. I’m a firm believer in voting for someone that can actually DO something – she can’t.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wow Keebler, I couldn’t have put it any better myself. I love how she said one term is enough and since she isn’t running for re-election she’s quitting now. WTF?! Why did she run in the first place?

    Comment by TT2 | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  3. I was really disappointed when the Republicans picked her. SUCH a bad choice.

    Worked well for the Dems though.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. When she accepted the VP nomination, she knew she needed to bring her professional game up to another level, she never did. She knew that her family would get attacked as did Hilary and Chelsea before her (by even her twin maverick brother McCain in 1998), let face it she knew her family affairs would come out. But now she plays the victim card again, a card she played after those comical first extended interviews that we all enjoyed and SNL immortalized. But for the icing on the cake, she quits, because she does not want to be a lame duck governor, because the lawsuits keep coming, because it was the media’s fault, because seeing Russia from her house finally got to her, because its not fair that Alaskan’s paid her salary while she was running for the VP position, take your pick. So what does she tells us? Dear Mr. President, when things get tough, quit. Dear military men and women, if you are not having fun, quit. Dear son or daughter, if things are not going your way, quit. Sure, I agree when she first was introduced and gave a descent speech, sure the polls went up, but after the extended interviews, they went where they ended, down. She showed her true character, I real hope the book deal, Radio/ TV shows and the lecture circuits make up for what her party has lost by her actions. She may go down in history as the quitter that twittered.

    Comment by Benito | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. “the quitter that twittered” hahahahahahaha! Awesome!

    Comment by TheHobo | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  6. agreed. that was brilliant, benito.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  7. tee hee hee – “the quitter that twittered”.

    Comment by TT2 | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  8. That was great, benito!!

    Comment by SeaKat | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. She whined to the press that she was spending half her time responding to ethics complaints. To which my response is, Whose fault is that? When (as Andrew Sullivan has pointed out in his blog) she lies repeatedly, charges a travel per diem for working at home, etc., of course she can expect people to question her ethics. I would say she’s a sociopath. One less of them in high office is good thing.

    Comment by Run-DMS | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  10. Well now we see the real Sarah Palin; she finally stands up and shows her true character, A QUITTER. She has hid behind her great looks and poor John McCain could not take his eyes off of her legs during her introduction to the public. Sarah Palin was and is a hypocrite and a deceiver. She flaunted her daughter’s fornication and her live in lover before the public and the nerve to not think that would be a topic of conversation for religious groups. Ms. Palin puts herself up on this high moral pedestal, such a hypocrite. It took her three different schools to get one four year degree in what kind of journalism? Was it sports? This woman has never been a good candidate for any political office. I really don’t know how she made it this far politically, but now she is exposed. What book deal? I’m sure some will get that book out of curiosity, but I would definitely not waste my money on such a character. She hardly reads herself and speaks in riddles like a lame duck.

    Comment by Hattie Johnson | July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

