uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s Music

Theme This!

I am a big believer in personal theme songs. Ones that play through your head with some frequency and that, if you were in a movie, would play you in or out of a scene. This is mine (although truth be told, sometimes it is Barracuda). Even though it is about, you know, “DOIN’ IT,” for me it has a broader meaning. It always makes me feel good–happy, bristling with energy and ready to fuck some shit up. I hope it does for you as well.


July 6, 2009 - Posted by | Monday\'s Music | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Great song. My GOD she has some pipes on her. She’s like the Christina Aguilera of the 70s. (Kidding!)

    I don’t think I have a personal theme song. Although when I learned to whitewater kayak, I always listened to Garth Brook’s Friends in Low Places before I got out of the car. Mostly because I was terrified and that song always makes me smile – it’s such a classic bar sing-along song.

    Maybe I needed a better theme song, though, because whitewater kayaking scared the bejeezus out of me and I quit as soon as the course was over. I never got past a class II run. My husband is a pretty good kayaker, and I had hoped to share his enjoyment. Turns out? Not so much. I’m a terrible Pacific Northwesterner.

    Comment by SeaKat | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. SeaKat, I prefer canoeing over kyaking any day.

    Comment by rumoUr | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. kayaking can be fun too:

    Comment by karisitah | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. I miss Heart. Why don’t we have any good female rockers anymore?

    Barracuda is one of my personal power ballads as well. I also tend toward “Hit Me With Your Best Shot” and “Heartbreaker.”

    And sometimes, “Sunday Morning” by No Doubt.

    Actually, any large voiced female singer makes me happy…saw Kelly Clarkson on SYTYCD (and oh my god! is she pregnant? If not someone needs to talk to her stylist about that shirt) and she’s still got it…vocally. I still rock out to “Since You’ve Been Gone.”

    But no ONE song stays in my head long enough to be my theme songs, unless it’s my song of the week.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  5. SeaKat–I lived there for ten years and never went kayaking. Or skiing. Or ate fish (not till I move to LA).

    I did go blackberry picking though. Course, they grow everywhere though, so it was very easy. 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  6. Those girls had some of the fiercest voices ever. I wish they’d make a comeback. They don’t make them like that anymore that’s for sure.

    Comment by blah | July 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

