uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Enough Already!

You Didn’t Love Him On Tuesday

michael

What the hell is wrong with people? Everyone has spent the last decade talking about what a freak Michael Jackson is and then the second he dies he’s some sort of hero. I have a problem with that, and I’m fairly sure he would, too. Why is it when a celebrity dies they are automatically ascended to god status? Remember Anna Nicole Smith? People did the same thing with her when she died, and I can’t recall even one person that didn’t make fun of her when she was still alive. TMZ and People feel the need to report every detail about Michael Jackson to us now. Hell, 98% of TMZ is currently Michael related. When was the last time you heard him on the radio? Since he died I’ve heard him on almost an hourly basis. Don’t get me wrong, it sucks that he died, because he had kids and I don’t wish death on people, but people are getting way out of hand. If you had really loved Michael as much as you say you did, he wouldn’t have spent his final years as a social outcast.

June 30, 2009 - Posted by | I Hate Things | , ,

16 Comments »

  1. Here here! 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Exactly. What I find disgusting is Micheal’s dad. He was on the news yesterday smiling and glad-handing people all the while promoting his new record company! What kind of man can be bothered with shaking hands and kissing babies whilst your youngest son has just died?

    Comment by blah | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. I loved him on Tuesday.

    Comment by JB | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. You know what’s even more repulsive, is kissing hands and shaking babies.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. BFM – you fecking kill me!

    Comment by blah | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Not to mention that he is like 90% of the top music on iTunes. It took him dying for these people to buy his music? None of it is new, why haven’t you purchased it before if you were such a fan?

    Comment by oilybohunk7 | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. This is dirty but appropriate: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVACUjHn6yU

    Comment by oilybohunk7 | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. My one and only MJ rant:
    1- Enough with the exploitation of death. If you didn’t sell MJ T-shirts last week, then you shouldn’t sell them this week.
    2- If your radio station didn’t play MJ music last week, then don’t play him this week… at least not in 24-hour blocks.
    3- His passing is no longer “top of the fold” news. If I hear any more MJ on NPR I WILL explode.

    That is all. Kthxbye.

    Comment by Stay, see? | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. I didn’t love him Tuesday or today. Since the whole pedophelia allegations and his addiction to plastic surgery, I lost all interest in him. And yes, the coverage is a bit much.

    Although, I get why some people would be sad. I have a friend who is Scottish (the Europeans LOVE MJ)and we had a fight a couple years ago about his uwavering love for MJ even in light of the possibility he was a pedo. My friend had tickets to his concert this year. So for him, it’s acceptable/reasonable/believeable that he would be sad. But to all those casket bandwagoners, they kind of make me sick. Although, I have to admit, I still love his old songs, but I won’t be buying them or a t-shirt.

    Comment by rumoUr | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. So… are we saying this is tacky?

    http://www.miniclip.com/games/michael-jackson-tribute/en/

    (Warning, automatic tacky music and flash game.)

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  11. YES!!

    I have no problem with waxing nostalgic, saying how much you loved his music, etc. But people are acting like they were his biggest fans, and totally ignoring the past two decades or so… He didn’t die in 1989. You can miss that MJ, but it’s dishonest to act like the scandals and difficulties of the last two decades never occurred.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  12. Deimos… I concur.

    Comment by XENU | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  13. Agreed! The first thing my sister said to me when we talked about MJ was this–When exactly did he stop being a child molester?–Because it’s like we can whitewash history now that he’s dead. Enough with the non-stop tribute. I actually turned on the radio and heard I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus. It’s June, son! (Okay, July now. But this was in June so bear with me) There’s no reason to play The Jackson 5 Christmas Album because MJ died. No damn reason.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  14. I really think people need to get over it. This coverage is excessive and is dismissing real relavent stories going on in this world for the sake of covering a man who was largely out of the American eye for some time (aside from those kid-touching cases).

    Iran is spiraling downward, Stewart Smalley is now a Senator, and the pharmaceutical industry is trying to scare the beejesus out of us and hoping we capitulate to fear of the gubment in our lives.

    People die. It is sad but it is the most natural part of life. Get over it and lets start focusing on shit that matters.

    Comment by blah | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  15. Don’t forget the 7 people who committed suicide because of his death. I like to think of those deaths as ‘thinning the herd.’ Also- did anyone else hear about how he was taking $48,000 A MONTH in prescriptions? I can’t even fathom how many pills and shots that is or why someone would need that much.

    I for one, don’t give two and two thirds shit about his death. People die, that’s what they do.

    Comment by Mae | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  16. I have to share my favorite quote from the day of his death–I follow Warren Ellis on Twitter, which, as we all know, has been very helpful with the Iran elections…

    WE Twittered the day MJ died: “Yes, it does occur to me that people in Iran are wondering wth they can’t access twitter.”

    So, yeah, totally with that whole “Bigger things are going on” thing.

    Comment by TheHobo | July 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

