uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Afternoon…er…Squee?

World’s Ugliest Dog

It’s Pabst!  A boxer-mix named Pabst won the annual World’s Ugliest Dog contest at the Sonoma-Marin Fair in Northern California on Friday.  His owner, Miles Egstad had this to say: “I don’t think he’s that ugly!”

APTOPIX World's Ugliest Dog

He’s not as ugly as some of the dogs pictured below, but he sure could use a trip to the dentist.  Perhaps Thundersquee!’s own Sarah might have a recommendation.

Pictures after the jump.

June 29, 2009 - Posted by | Afternoon Squee!, Daily Whims | , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. But that’s such a cute puppy! I ❤ his underbite

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. I read somewhere that this is the first time in 5 years that one of those chinese crested dogs didn’t win. I really don’t understand why anyone would want one of those dogs, because on a good day they still look like this goblin puppet I had as a kid.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boglin

    Comment by silent noodles | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t get it either. He’s kind of pretty, in an interesting way. Like Adrien Brody.

    Those other dogs are terrifying. I’m betting there was some lobbying to the board from the committee for the acceptance of those other kinds of dogs, which mostly look the same.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yeah, I don’t think he’s World’s Ugliest Dog ugly. I think the criteria for that should be that the dog makes people wonder how the owner could find it endearing, and Pabst just looks in need of doggy orthodonture. And mildly demonic, maybe…

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. Also, that Crested, bottom right, oddly cute.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. He looks like the rained-on Hang In There kitty.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. It’s always the Chinese Crested. Those things are fecking hideous! I think this years winner is actually cute, despite the whole dental issue. At least he has teeth, those other ones with thier tongues hanging out no longer have teeth.

    Comment by blah | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. I think he just looks mean, but not necessarily ugly. I mean look at those Cresteds. Why do they have to be Chinese? Man, they are like the Bai Ling of Chinese dogs. Embarrassing. Yes, I’m Chinese, so I can say these things.

    Comment by TT2 | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. TT2, FTW!!!

    Comment by stopthemadness | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  10. SN – you had a what as a child? Who gave you that? That is straight-up nightmare fuel. To me. Today. As a 28 year old woman.

    Comment by shu_shu | June 29, 2009 | Reply

  11. shu- I really don’t know what my parents were thinking. I just remember once my dad turned all the lights off and when I was walking up stairs he screamed and threw it at me as a joke…I guess it would have been funny if I wasn’t like 5.

    Comment by silent noodles | June 30, 2009 | Reply

  12. Pabst has just the right mouth to say “Rooby Racks!”

    Comment by WhoMee | July 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

