uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

R.I.P. MICHAEL JACKSON

ts-michael_jacksonStill Can’t Believe It…

Michael Jackson died today from cardiac arrest.  He was 50. He is survived by his three children: Michael Joseph Jackson, Jr., Paris Michael Katherine Jackson and Prince  Michael Jackson II.

Just…

wow.

I’m going to go listen to Thriller now… it’s one of the first two albums I ever bought (the other was Purple Rain.)  I still have it on vinyl.

Videos from Thriller after the jump.

 

June 25, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrity Shenanigans, Daily Whims | ,

19 Comments »

  1. *hugs*

    Comment by TheHobo | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. Maybe this is callous of me… and maybe it’s because Auntie Flo arrived a few minutes ago with alll of hells fury behind her.. BUT…. I could care less. The man was an oddball who more than likely molested little boys… no, he was never convicted but he was accused, and more than once. That being said, I don’t care. No one out there can dance the way that he can, but everyone on facebook is all.. oooh ohh, RIP MJ. I’m sitting there thinking.. FUMJ. Seriously.

    Comment by XENU | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. Music will never be the same, and my childhood is slipping away from me. MJ was a tragic figure- he was a perfectionist that loathed his facial features and grew up in a JW home. He was confused beyond reality.

    I’ve been listening to the Jacksons for the past two days and even thought he lived longer than I expected him to.

    I will miss you Michael, may he be in a peaceful place.

    Comment by missmeeky | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hmmm. Yeah, I’m torn, to be honest.

    On the one hand, I do love his earlier music and no one can deny the importance that he had in popular music/culture. I also feel pity for the man who was clearly tormented…

    On the other hand, I do, personally, believe that he was probably a child molester who got away with his actions because he was richer than hell (for a while).

    I guess the MJ that I cared about died for me when I came to believe the pedophilia allegations. This guy didn’t really mean squat to me.

    I do feel for his family, who seem to have believed in him to the end – as families are wont to do. I hope he finds peace.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  5. will he be buried with a germ mask on? will he undergo any last plastic surgery for the open casket? should they have implanted him with a heart made of botox? inquiring minds want to know.

    Comment by chocrain | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. Poor kids.

    Comment by Sar | June 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. Sar, my thoughts exactly. Pretty much my only thoughts on the whole thing.

    Comment by Skaði | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  8. Oh, don’t worry about the kids. We’ll ALL get to watch them grow up!

    There will probably be sex tapes, and drug charges, and let’s not forget the bankruptcy and lawsuits, and, and, and…

    sigh.

    Comment by TheHobo | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. Ok, now that my cramps have subsided he truly was a talented performer and absolutely no one can hold a candle to his dance moves… and that’s about all I can say.

    Comment by XENU | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  10. i’m still in shock that he’s gone… i’ll always remember him as a pop icon and an extremely talented performer. sure there’s other crap, and when this autopsy comes out there will be even more crap, but i’m hoping most of the world can remember him as an amazing entertainer as well.

    Comment by lava | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  11. For some reason this made me really sad. I think it is because of the nostalga I feel toward the MJ as I prefer to think of him (early 80s Obvie). MJ was our neighborhood’s party band – we played him at every graduation, memorial day, and fourth of July party. The moms and daughters in 4 different families from our neighborhood drove from Madison, WI to Chicago for the Victory tour. One mom was in a wheelchair because she had just recently torn her achilles. That didn’t stop her – we were going to the Jackson concert.

    I do not like where his life went in his later years, but all the rememberence of his earlier life and career has brought back memories of a special time. And by special time I mean when all my Barbies wanted to be my MJ doll’s girlfriend. Yep, I had an MJ doll.

    Anyway, RIP Michael Jackson.

    Comment by Payter | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  12. So I didn’t grow up in the 70’s or 80’s, so I’m not really qualified to comment on MJ I know, but I kind of agree with SeaKat. He had an amazing, unrivaled contribution to pop music but in recent years he’s been plagued with pedophilia scandals and personal drama. I used to say that he was one of those people like Janis Joplin or Jim Morrison who should have died earlier, before reality caught up and we all realize what a weirdo you are, you know? No one is perfect, and if he was in fact a child molester, the world is definitely better without him, and it would have been nice to remember him just for the music, without all the other turmoil thrown in. Ah, well. He’s thrillin angels now

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  13. You didn’t grow up in the 70s or 80s? OMG, I feel SOOOO OLD!! Heee he hee.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  14. What SeaKat said.

    Comment by shu_shu | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  15. SeaKat–I don’t know if this will help or hurt your old feeling, but let me clarify anyway. I was born in ’85, so I’m really a child of the 90’s. But technically I did do some of my growing in the 80’s.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  16. SeaKat, your Hee Hees are cracking me up.

    Comment by Payter | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  17. Payter – 🙂

    Chelsea – that makes me feel a *little* better. I was born in ’71. I’m still way older than you.

    Bright side: Anytime we disagree about the hottest Bales or the skankiest celebs, I can shout “RESPECT YOUR ELDERS, MISSY!!” So that’s cool.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 26, 2009 | Reply

  18. And I’ll totally bow down to your intellect and awesomeness. So you totally win.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 27, 2009 | Reply

  19. LOL. Goooo me! No seriously, I gotta go take my Ensure-with-a-Geritol-chaser.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

