uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Alice in Wonderland

Looks good so far…

ts-aliceusatoday11Here are some promo shots of Tim Burton’s upcoming Alice in Wonderland starring Anne Hathaway as the White Queen, Johnny Depp as the Mad Hatter, and Helena Bonham Carter as the Queen of Hearts.  The movie also stars Crispin Glover, Alan Rickman, and Stephen Fry, and is slated to be released sometime in 2010.  With such a strong cast, I  hope the movie will be fantastical in its awesomitude.  I really didn’t enjoy Charlie and the Chocolate Factory; it was too weird for me.  Or maybe I hadn’t taken enough LSD when I saw it.  And by “enough” I mean “any.”

What’s your take on Burton’s trip down the rabbit hole?

More pictures after the jump.



June 22, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrity Shenanigans, Movie Marquis | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Well…it might be good. But Willie Wonka has ruined me for Tim Burton movies. And in case anyone needs something to be upset about, let me just say it. I didn’t like Sweeney Todd. That musical has the potential to be great. Great. But the Mill Mountain Theater in Salem, VA did a better production of it than that movie. And if you’ve never been to Mill Mtn., let me just explain that it wouldn’t be hard to beat them.

    Please prove me wrong Alice in Wonderland.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. I thought Tim Burton’s version of Sweeney Todd helped gain the musical new fans. It wasn’t earth shattering work but I enjoyed it, having seen many stage versions of the show.

    Now, I’m confused about your comment about Mill Mountain Theatre. MMT has a long standing reputation of being an excellent regional theatre on the east coast. 45 years worth of excellent shows. Unfortunately, they had a rough go of it in the last couple of years and even had to close its door this past season because financial problems, but I admire many of the fantastic productions that I have seen on its two stages. And I saw a lot.

    Mill Mountain Theatre is located in Roanoke, VA, so I can only assume that you were referring to another theatre all together.

    My other clue … to my knowledge MMT has never done a production of Sweeney Todd.

    Comment by MMT Alumn | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Mill Mountain Theatre vs. Mill Mountain Theatre, part Deux: THUNDERDOME!

    Comment by SeaKat | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. You’re right MMT and I appreciate it! It was actually Showtimers in Roanoke, not Mill Mtn. And it’s also been around for many decades, and it wasn’t absolutely terrible (I’m no theater aficionado or worthy of judging anyone too harshly–not that that will ever stop me) but it wasn’t good, and it was better than the movie.

    But if people are only fans of a musical because it’s a Tim Burton movie, they’re not really fans of the musical, no?

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

