uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random-dome!

Catch Us Up on You

lolpred

Here at Thundersquee!, we believe in freedom of speech and self-expression. To show you just how much we believe, we’ve decided to give you a little corner where you can spew forth whatever happens to pop into your mind. Angry? Tell us about it. Happy? Shout it from the rooftops. Drunk as hell? Write an incoherent rant that nobody will understand. There’s only one rule: If you have to fight amongst yourselves, leave the shivs and chains at home.

June 19, 2009 - Posted by | Random-dome! |

31 Comments »

  1. I can’t decide whether to bring a classy bottle of wine to a sit-down dinner with an old friend, or just shove my trusty rum in my purse and pull it out to spike whatever she’s serving.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Why is it so insufferably hot in New Orleans? I’m sweating like a whore in church. AND WHERE ARE THE HAGS??? Come hang out with meeeeee!!!!

    Comment by Cristal Methodd | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. Bring both, bfm. 😉

    CM – wish I were there!

    Comment by SeaKat | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. My brand new in-laws are getting divorced. They’d planned it back in November but didn’t want our wedding to be awkward–so now the jewish mother in me is making me feel REALLY GUILTY about that. But the even more awkward part is that my brand new sister in law is not taking the news well, and so while my brand new husband goes out of town with some friends for the weekend, I’m in charge of consoling her. Marriage is awesome.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. Dude. Chelsea, that’s a lot to put on a brand new daughter-in-law’s shoulders!! How old is the s-i-l? Have you known her for a long time?

    Comment by SeaKat | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. She’s my age (24), and I’ve known her a couple years, but it was rough. She just left and it actually was way less awkward then I thought it would be, but still really weird. And Father’s Day is right around the corner. That ought to be fun.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. Geez, Chelsea. I mean OK they didn’t want to spoil the wedding…but they don’t mind spoiling the first few weeks of your marriage by dumping this on you and letting you clean up the pieces? I will say this, it sounds like it will be a little galvanizing – you will bond with someone by the end of this, you’ll have a friend for life somewhere in the family. That will be a plus.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  8. Yeah, I’m being an optimist. As it turns out from the talk with the s-i-l, the wedding was just the last in a long list of delays for this announcement, so I feel better about that. But I’m definitely feeling better about my dysfunctional family since his was the first to drop the crazy bomb

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  9. I just removed 52 bobby pins from my hair. Bon Temps! … And, a shout out to some special hags for some awesome Rock-n-Bowl goodness and for braving the ridiculously hot New Orleans.

    Comment by Roxydarling | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  10. I was laid off on Tuesday… I have become a statistic. I hate this feeling…. blaaah.

    Comment by XENU | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  11. Xenu — I’m so sorry. I was laid off in December, so I think I might know how you feel.

    How are you doing? Was this something you could see coming or was it a surprise? (It’s always a shock, even if you have an inkling it’s going to happen.)

    Please let me know what I can do. Where are you located and what kind of work do you do? Do you need someone to proof your resume? Just need to bitch? We got your back, babe.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  12. I’m so sorry Xenu! And let me echo SeaKat–anything you need, we’re here for you

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  13. SeaKat & XENU ~ Please let us know if we can help! No Squeer will ever go hungry on our watch. Squee solidarily!

    Comment by Stay, see? | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  14. Thanks, Stay, see? !

    After getting laid off, I decided to work for myself and it’s been going OK so far.

    ::knock wood::

    Working for myself has some major benefits, but it’s kind of scary knowing that there’s no guaranteed paycheck coming in every 2 weeks. Thank you SO much for your kind words – it means a lot to be part of such an awesome group!

    Comment by SeaKat | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  15. it is race riot hot in new orleans. was a beautiful wedding. now i’m going back to cali, cali, cali,….

    Comment by stopthemadness | June 21, 2009 | Reply

  16. Awww, Chelsea and Xenu – I’m sorry! 😦

    Roxy was beyond gorgeous on Saturday, and the hags were uberfetch.

    Thanks, guys, for a memorable weekend – and thanks for helping GLADOW!!!11 and I celebrate such a joyous moment.

    Now back to my airport coffee at O’Hare, which I just spilled all over myself in epic fail fashion.

    Also, my mother is the debbil.

    Comment by Cait | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  17. Uh Oh. What happened w/ Mum, Cait?

    BTW – I saw some pics of you at the wedding – SO gorgeous and elegant. You TS! brides are hotties!! Way to go, NFL guy! 😉

    Comment by SeaKat | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  18. Um…perhaps *some* of us can see some pictuers of this wedding?!

    Comment by blah | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  19. I saw some of the photos too (bless Facebook stalking) and you all looked gorgeous! Looked like a great wedding!

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  20. Let’s just say my mother has never met a narcotic or an inappropriate outburst she didn’t like. Roxy actually ran interference for me after Mom made me cry at the rehearsal dinner.

    But pish tosh, that’s all done and I’m Mrs. NFL Guy and on my way to a papal audience with the husband.

    Comment by Cait | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  21. Oh, Cait. I’m sorry. Families can be hell. I am glad you’re able to put it behind you and even more glad that you have great friends and a great hubby to help you get through it. Enjoy your honeymoon!!!

    Blah – send me a note on fb and I’ll send you a friend suggestion to STM, who has the pics posted. (If you’re not already friends w/STM on fb. Damn, we have more acronyms than the US Navy, and that’s saying something!)

    Comment by SeaKat | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  22. My office blocks FB and so does the library. Those are the only places that I have access to the internets for the time being. This goes back to my “I need a fecking roommate” complaint. Either that, or I need to win the lottery, or a ponycorn.

    Comment by blah | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  23. Oh, no! Why in holy hell does the LIBRARY block fb???

    Comment by SeaKat | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  24. They also block MySpace and any form of instant messaging.
    Commies. All of them!

    Comment by blah | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  25. I should have skipped school today. We got tests back, and the idiots in here did crappy. I missed two, of which he already skipped over – which means I have 2 hours of boredom ahead of me, and I forgot my book in my car. Perfect.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  26. I am seriously wondering how/why I ever loved hot, hot, hot weather. Now that I can’t go to the pool and just chill out (aka – lay out and read), I really don’t enjoy the pool as much anymore. My kids on the other hand want to go all the time. I need 3 more hands and 2 more sets of eyes. Then I might relax – a little. Instead I will just be freaking out the whole time and sweating like a pig.

    I do love summer though. really.

    I am going to second, third, forth – the support of squeers with job issues. My hubby has had jobs on and off for the past year or more, and we are considering some desperate measures (BK) in order to survive. When did it come to this? If i can help anyone in the freakin’ hot Kansas area, well let me know!!

    Comment by Payter | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  27. blah, what part of the country you living in? Maybe we can help you find a roommate…

    People looking for work: I’ve been seeing the end come nigh at my job and have been actively hunting for months, with no nibbles. SO I did some research and this was what I liked:

    Don’t spend more than like two hours a day job hunting. Really, you won’t find any more leads after that. I recommend a morning and evening search, for maybe an hour or so each.

    Also, go volunteer! Especially handy if you can volunteer in some way related to your job choice, or at least in the same industry. It helps get you out of the house, and more importantly, can be great for networking with new people (which always helps the job hunt).

    If you’ve got the extra cash, take a cheap class. Again, helps with networking, but also, brushing up on an old skill or learning a new one is only gonna help your resume. Or, if you can get the financial aide, maybe going back to school is a good idea.

    Me, I’m take some Hag advice and gonna learn me some of this here web programming thingamajigger.

    And finally, all of my unemployed friends are losing weight thanks to all the time they have to work out and come up with really cheap, healthy dinners. I recommend this course of action. Also, this is the time to work on that novel/screenplay/painting/music career whatever–something you enjoy.

    Because by the looks of it, the job hunt is sort of a long-term quest these days, so might as well make the most of your time since you have it. And do whatever you can to keep your spirits up. And let us know if we can help in any way!

    SeaKat…we should talk…I’ve been thinking about freelancing for a while…

    Cait: sorry about the family stuff. I relate. But at least now you have a NEW family, the one you’re making! (and the in-laws, but really, the one you’re making is the fun one!) Big hugs and a hearty congratulations to you! 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  28. Here’s a link to some photos of my trip to NOLA for those of you who are interested! (The link should work even if you don’t have a facebook account.)

    http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=122620&id=614087165&l=3c65aa5a11

    Comment by stopthemadness | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  29. I live in northern Illinois. North of Chicago, but not quite Wisconsin

    Comment by blah | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  30. blah, I found a way around the FB block at work by opening the site securely: https://www.facebook.com. It kind of sucks because everytime you move to another page (after logging in, etc), you have to insert the ‘s’ after the ‘http’ but it works in a pinch.

    Sadly I can’t open the picture link but I’ll check it when I get home. Congrats again to Cait and NFL Guy!

    Comment by Stay, see? | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  31. SS, :0( Thanks for trying, but they’ve got that too. They’ve banned it and they say it’s because it’s a social network.

    Why can’t I be social!?

    Comment by blah | June 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

