uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy Belated 66th Birthday Barry Manilow

ts-barrymanilowI have a confession to make. I am a Barry Manilow fan. Like my love of 1970s super-group ABBA, I am unapologetic about it. He has a great voice and has written some amazing songs.

In honor of Barry’s birthday, here are a couple of his songs. I actually know a girl who is named after this first song, and no her name isn’t “Weekend in New England.”


Sing along. You know you want to.

Manilow trivia time. Barry got his start in show business as Bette Midler’s piano player back in the days when she used to play the gay bathhouses.

June 18, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrity Shenanigans | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I am an unashamed fanilow! He writes catchy tunes you can’t stop humming and his voice. It’s like buttah.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’m a fanilow as well! He is one of the greatest entertainers of all time. I’ve been to 4 shows on one tour! I also have all of his CDs…

    Comment by Meeky | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow! Meeky – you win. I just have his greatest hits. And I’ve never seen him on tour. Wow, I suck at this fan thing, don’t I???

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. I had his greatest hits CD but somehow it came up missing. I love “Mandy” even if he did write it about his dog. Don’t even get me singing “Copa Cabana”. I’ll never shut up.

    Comment by blah | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. HE WROTE IT ABOUT HIS DOG?

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. I thought he had a Beagle named Bagel.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  7. Nice to see some old footage of Barry Manilow. He certainly knows how to write a tune.

    Comment by Dan the Music Master | June 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

