uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Brain Busters

Riddle Edition

ts-brain-buster

You all may know that I hate everything, but one thing I definitely do not hate is trivia. Every Tuesday, I drag the boyfriend and friends to my local hole in the wall for Quizzo Trivia (It’s nationwide too!) And every week, the Bonus rounds make me want to brick the host in the face. So I thought I would share some of my pain with all of you.

Last round’s winner was Jamie.  The answers were:

1. tulip
2. dandelion
3. marigold
4. lilac
5. orchid

Here is this week’s challenge:

Your goal is to find Heaven but you’ve encountered a fork in the road.  One path leads to Heaven, the other to Hell,  and you don’t know which path to take.  A guard stands in the middle of the fork.  He is from either Heaven or Hell,  but you don’t know which. If he is from Hell, he always lies, and if he is from Heaven, he always speaks truth. You can only ask him one question. What would be your question?


June 18, 2009 - Posted by | Brain Busters | , ,

14 Comments »

  1. I will refrain from answering because I have known this riddle since I was a child. However I will admit that I couldn’t guess it then, despite hours of reading Encyclopedia Brown and being a total geek.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wanna smoke one?

    Comment by cooter jean | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. Would the other guard tell me that this door leads to Heaven?

    Comment by vodkafanta | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. But there’s only one guard, right?

    Comment by shu_shu | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. Also, I ❤ Encyclopedia Brown!!! Are those still in print? I should go snatch up some of them for Lil Shu.

    Comment by shu_shu | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. Encyclopedia Brown rocked. Also: Little House on the Prairie, Betsy, Tacy & Tib and the Trixie Belden series.

    Shu – if your daughter hasn’t gotten into Magic Treehouse books, those are pretty great, too.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  7. I love Magic Treehouse!!! She’s only 3, so I haven’t started reading them to her. But I volunteer with Big Brothers/Big Sisters reading program and my “little” loves them!

    Comment by shu_shu | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  8. Oh, that’s so cool! Judy Moody and Junie B. Jones are fun, too. But a word to the wise about Junie B. – the SeaCannibal started talking back after we read her a few of those books. We had to put Junie B. on “timeout” for a while, until SeaCannibal figured out the difference between “funny to read about in a book” and “funny to do in real life!” 🙂

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  9. I made a similar mistake by reading Lil Shu a book called _My Mom is Trying to Ruin My Life_.

    Comment by shu_shu | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  10. May I also recommend Herbie Jones? Annabelle from those books was my hero, and kids love having Herbie read to them… and they still crack my shit up.

    Also never let your kids read a book called Nobody’s Fault. I am still traumatized when I think about it. It was on the Weekly Reader list but it was like Tarantino for kids.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  11. which door would the other guard say is the door to heaven? Then go the opposite way.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | June 19, 2009 | Reply

  12. Which way to your home?

    Comment by kblr | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  13. What is my dog thinking?

    (What, these people sounds like they might know this kind of thing.)

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 20, 2009 | Reply

  14. I’d ask. “How old am I?” Or, “What’s my name?”

    Comment by rumoUr | June 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

