uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mondegreen of the Week

Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds, The Beatlesmondegreen1

Picture yourself in a boat on a river,
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies.
Somebody calls you, you answer quite slowly,
A girl with colitis goes by kaleidoscope eyes.

Cellophane flowers of yellow and green,
Towering over your head.
Look for the girl with the sun in her eyes,
And she’s gone.

Lucy in the sky with diamonds,
Lucy in the sky with diamonds,
Lucy in the sky with diamonds…


See full lyrics here.


YouTube is shockingly devoid of videos for this song (aside from the ones made by the hoi polloi, including one from a lovely gentleman who calls himself “fucktown“); the video merely portrays a still picture of the Beatles’ album cover.  Well done, fucktown!  (Now there are three words I never thought I’d ironically say.)

So instead, I went with a performance by Elton John on  the Cher Show from like, 1970whatever ago.  Honestly, Squeers!, I only used the Cher video because I really wanted to say “If I could turn back TAAAOW!!



June 17, 2009 - Posted by | Mondegreen of the Week | , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. ROFFLEMAYO to the power eleventy billion on that sidebar video! I wish I had cable, so I could experience more often the comedy genius of the one known as Jack.

    Comment by WhoMee | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. It is a seldom Beattles song I find worth listening all the way through. Although it is obviously inspired by a combination of an acid trip and a severe case of the munchies, it is infectious. After watching that monstrosity of a musical “Across the Universe”, when I hear that song I think of some love-sick, whiny, brittish actor serenading a starved, silicone and botox injected actress that will end up cheating on him anyways. And I didn’t think I could provide a synopsis of the movie, how about that?

    Comment by drgnsldr | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. Really, Dr Gnsldr? (I’m sorry, but to me, you’ll always be a DOC-tah!)

    I love The Beatles.

    Norwegian Wood?
    Dear Prudence?
    While My Guitar Gently Weeps?
    Blackbird??

    You really don’t find many Beatles songs worth listening to all the way through??

    I’m just…flabbergasted!

    Comment by SeaKat | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. He probably just hasn’t listened to the deep cuts, like the ones you mentioned. Doctor Gunslider, listen to all of Revolver and/or Rubber Soul. Then skip past Sergeant Pepper to Abbey Road.

    Comment by WhoMee | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. And The White Album. Those 4 are essential.

    Comment by WhoMee | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. Happy Birthday Paul (as in McCartney).

    I love every single Beatles song. I don’t understand how you could not? But I think there are two types of people in the world: Beatles people, and Elvis people.

    Are you an Elvis person, drgnsldr?

    Comment by Cristal Methodd | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  7. what if you’re neither a beatles person OR an elvis person.

    what if i want to be a color me badd person?

    😀

    Comment by stopthemadness | June 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

