uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Immigrants Coming Over Here…Giving Away Soup?

Pho-king Awesome

19943992There are two things to which Her Pinkness is addicted: bad puns and Pho (pronounced “fuh”).  Oh, and possibly kittens, so maybe 3 things, but for the purposes of laziness and inaccuracy let’s call it two.  When it comes to horrible puns and Pho, I will most always go out of my way, and in the case of the latter I find it hard to fathom how it can be improved upon, except maybe by combining it with bad puns, and due to its highly pun-able name it often is. However, John Pham, owner of Ninh Kieu restaurant in Swatara Townshi, Pennsylvania, showed me how to improve Pho without the aid of any puns whatsoever. He’s doing it by being thoughtful, kind and appreciative of what he has.


Pho: Vietnamese for awesome.

Pho: It's Vietnamese for awesome.

Pham is a Vietnamese immigrant who came to the U.S. in 1979 at the age of 10.  After earning a degree in electrical engineering from Virginia Tech and becoming a U.S. citizen, he eventually settled in the Harrisonburg, PA area and opened a restaurant. As a self-made man from humble beginnings, he knows what financial struggle is like, and is grateful for the opportunities that living in this country has provided him.  He says, “This country has been good to me. Now the economy here is bad. Unemployment is up. I want to give something back to my country and community.”

As a means to that end, he is extending a special offer on his Pho. On Wednesdays and Thursdays anyone who has become unemployed due to the current economic crisis will be charged a mere one cent. That’s right,  anyone who has recently lost their job can eat the hell out of soup made from awesome (and puns) for just a penny–no questions asked or proof of unemployment required because, he explains,  “I trust people.”

pho-shizzleThank you, Mr. Pham.  You are my new hero.  Not only are you helping people who are having a tough time right now, you’re doing it with nearly free Pho, and I’m almost certain the only way to improve upon that is by making it completely free and handing out kittens and blow jobs with every non-purchase (hint hint).

If any of you happen to be in Swatara Township, Pennsylvania, please stop by his restaurant.  If you’re unemployed and find it’s still too expensive then let me know.  I’ll send you some pennies.

June 17, 2009 - Posted by | News You May or May Not Use | , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. If that Pho Shizzle place is for real, I need to find it. If it’s not, I need to open one. Oh wait, I. Am. Daft. Those are the puns, aren’t they? Clever. Still, someone needs to open up a Pho Shizzle. I’m just sayin’.

    Mr. Pham is awesomeness and I congratulate him for achieving the American dream.

    now I need to go find myself some Pho. Do I go to South Philly or Chinatown? Decisions, decisions….

    Comment by TT2 | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. My favorite is Pho King.

    I’ve never eaten there, I just like the name 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. there’s a place in la called absolutely phobulous.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | June 17, 2009 | Reply

  4. I always thought it was pronounced “fo” or “feaux”. Either way I’ve never had it but it looks delicious.

    It’s nice to see that even in todays world there are good people like this out there.

    Comment by blah | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. TT2, Pho Shizzle is indeed a real place in Cambridge, ON – god bless the Vietnadians.

    Also, Pho Kim Long is either a chain or a very popular name for a Pho restaurant.

    Comment by Helen Skor | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. Helen Skor, thanks for the info. Next time I go to Canadia, I am going to find this Pho Shizzle place. I wonder if my cousins know where it is. They live in Toronto.

    Pho Kim Long….giggle.

    Comment by TT2 | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  7. bfm, I always thought that it was pronounced with a long “O” as well – like “faux”. So for the longest time I wanted to open a Pho restaurant called “Authentic Pho”. Now that I know how to pronounce it properly, the only humoUr would be that an Irish-German chick is calling her Vietnamese cuisine “authentic.”

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  8. oops i think you were talking to blah. or you were reading my mind, because i am still unclear on whether or not it’s FO.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 18, 2009 | Reply

  9. Sorry! Yes “blah” not “bfm”! Sorry, blah!!

    Comment by SeaKat | June 18, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

