uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mistakes in Advertizing

The succubus returns.

drichardsAs a reader of Dlisted.com, I noticed this morning that Denise Richards’ plastic mug was starting at me. From both sides of the screen. Now I am not going to whinge about it – Michael K needs to get paid, y’all! But here is what happened: normally I ignore ads, but something caught my eye. The insert ad with the headline: “The Wild Thing Is Back.” Woah, woah, woah. Hold the phone. Since when has she been known as the Wild Thing? I will tell you, exactly never. You know who WAS known as Wild Thing? Rick Vaughn aka Charlie Sheen. Perhaps it is an innocent happenstance, you say? Nay, say I. And I quote, “…to even throwing out the first pitch at a MAJOR LEAGUE, baseball game…” I added the emphasis, but bear with me. What movie does the Wild Thing, Rick Vaughn, appear in? That’s right! Major League. Her tenure at Dancing with the Stars, her most recent experience in the fading limelight was reduced to “dancing in front of millions,” yet a heretofore unknown baseball pitch is given three lines, including creating a parable for her lifestyle? She should change the name of the show to Denise Richards: Still Sponging off Charlie Sheen.

(As an aside: who wrote the copy for this ad? A third grader? Sheesh!)

June 12, 2009 - Posted by | Celebrity Shenanigans | , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Neve Campbell blows her away in “Wild Things”.

    Comment by WhoMee | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  2. Although I can’t stand her, I have to correct you on one instance. According to IMDB, she was in the movie Wild Things with Neve Campbell, Kevin Bacon, and Matt Dillon. Therefore, she also gets to use the nickname, I guess. But yeah, to me, Charlie Sheen is the real Wild Thing. Having said that – how in the hell did she get another season? Are there really that many people that can relate to her? Effin’ scary!

    Comment by TT2 | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. I sort of like watching that show. I mean, I know she’s awful, but that’s kind of why I like it. I know she originally did the show because she wanted to repair her image, but I think it’s hilarious because her show does the exact opposite of what she hoped to accomplish.

    Comment by blah | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. TT2: Not to quibble, although I am totally about to, she was in the movie Wild Things, but not known as Wild Thing. I would have chalked it up to the movie if it weren’t for the suspiciously long baseball reference. Coincidence once, shame on me; coincidence twice shame on Denise. Something like that.

    As for another season – people really like veneers? But if that were the case I’m With Busey would still be on.

    Comment by Lisa(#1) | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh my gosh! I totally forgot about that show! I really wanted to see the Liza Minelli & David Guest show they were going to do. I know it’s sick and you’ve probably thrown up in your mouth a little from thinking about it, but I guess that I have a fascination with these creepy people who feel they need to be displayed on TV

    Comment by blah | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. Yeah, I think the fact that the term “Wild Thing” immediately conjures up the image of Charlie Sheen in Major League, while one has to use IMDB to figure out Richards was in a movie with a similar names suggests the reference could be intentional. I don’t think I’ve ever watched anything she’s been in (except one episode of The Dog Whisperer, don’t judge), but when you put “Wild Thing,” “Major League,” and her photo together, my brain connects the dots and says, “Oh yeah, that chick Charlie Sheen used to be married to.”

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lisa (#1): I stand corrected – when you put it that way, then yes – WTF!!!
    and I read the copy again for the ad – someone actually paid for the ad space and then gave the greenlight for this crap to be published? Oh…it’s clear to me now. Denise wrote this herself.

    Comment by TT2 | June 12, 2009 | Reply

  8. I also noticed these ads on dlisted.

    Even worse: The ad with her “crazy experiences” popping up one after another. One of the experiences, I shit you not, was “Display Fun Bags” or some such.

    I’m sorry, but when has her career been about anything OTHER than “displaying fun bags???”

    Unless they’re talking about that stupid fauxmercial (new word!) that she did for College Humor or Funny or Die or one of those sites. In which case: LAME.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

