uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mondegreen of the Week

Africa, Totomondegreen1

I hear the drums echoing tonight
But she hears only whispers of some quiet conversation
She’s coming in 12:30 flight
The moonlit wings reflect the stars that guide me towards salvation
I stopped an old man along the way
Hoping to find some long forgotten words or ancient melodies
He turned to me as if to say, hurry boy, its waiting there for you

It’s gonna take a lot to drag me away from you
Theres nothing that a hundred men on Mars or more could ever do
I bless the rains down in Africa
Gonna take some time to do the things we never had

See full lyrics here.

Bear with me y’all.  I’ve been slipping into late seventies/early eighties music coma from which I likely shall not recover.  I am not, however, ashamed to admit that I LOVE THIS SONG.

I’m also not ashamed to admit that I sing the misheard lyrics to this day because that’s what I thought the lyrics were when I was a kid, and misheard lyricsitis is a helluva habit to break.


June 10, 2009 - Posted by | Mondegreen of the Week | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. That whole song kinda sounds like “Eer ere aaaa down in Africa” to me.

    Comment by Cristal Methodd | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. How does one do a thing they never had?

    I’m confused.

    Comment by SeaKat | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. After careful analysis I think there is an implied “done”

    “Take some time to do the things we never had (done)”

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. Gonna take some time to do the things we never diiiiiid.

    That’s how I hear it anyway. What? Even as a kid I liked grammar.

    LOVE this song by the way, though I’m pretty sure I just made up the versus as a kid.

    Also, I always thought it was “I kiss the rains down in Africa..”

    I didn’t know why he was kissing the rains, but I like tilting my head up and letting the rain fall over my face (and lips) so that’s what I thought he was doing.

    Comment by TheHobo | June 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. I used to hear it “I blessed the rays”… I first heard that song on a commercial for a compilation CD, and spent a long time trying to figure out what he was saying. Good song for a mondegreen.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | June 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

