uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Confessions of an Ex-Shopaholic

Bride Wars

One year from this weekend your former shopaholic, myself, Ms. April Elizabeth Sh… (like I am going to tell you) will be marrying The Fiancée. Specifically, one year from this Friday. Although the specifics are all up in the air, one thing is settled, this will be on the cheap because a) I am cheap, and b) I am broke.

This will not be the only wedding installment for cheap ass brides like myself, but this is the first. Being the first, it deals with the most fun of wedding planning: the dress.

The Dress

I set the goal as under 200 bucks. This is what I found:

Cream A-Line, Lily Wedding

lwd0010-fr

A beautiful A-line, cream, strapless crystal beaded formal gown for $178.00.  It also  comes with a free veil and free UPS shipping, solidifying its bargain status.


Sophia Long Dress, J. Crew

erez

A beautiful, white, empire, V-neck silk gown. It even has lingerie straps inside. $199.99.


Chiffon High/Low Dress, David’s Bridal

chiffon-high-low-dress-br1006

You’ll love David’s Bridal!!!! Actually, you probably won’t, but this is from the db online collection, so you will probably never have to set foot in the horrid place. This may actually be my wedding dress. I like the price, I like the look. I want something relatively informal, but at the same time I don’t want to give up my only (hopefully) chance at wearing a bridal gown. Although I prefer it in Ivory (not white like the picture on the site shows). It has a sweetheart neckline, gathered empire waist with crystal beading and asymmetrical hemline all for $179.00.


Lacy Wedding Dress, Dragon Orient

jh8801

Its true name is Cheap Wedding dress. That’s fine, call it what you want, it’s gorgeous. Here is the site’s description: Lace over charmeuse strapless trumpet gown, soft curved neckline, empire bodice accented with ribbon and beadings, bow detail at back, chapel train. YOU CAN HAVE IT CUSTOM MADE! $195.00

May 22, 2009 - Posted by | Confessions of an Ex-Shopaholic | , , , , ,

18 Comments »

  1. Whatever you buy, just make sure it’s easily removable by your hubbo.

    Comment by WhoMee | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. So impressive. A woman who can bargain shop for a wedding dress is the kind of woman I’d marry. If I were gay and it were legal here. And she deemed me thrifty enough for her. 🙂

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’m really digging the Chiffon High/Low dress. Just for the record. 😛

    Plus, one of the few wedding dresses where you can actually show off your shoes…and legs.

    Comment by TheHobo | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wow. I spent $700 in 1996 and thought I was doing pretty well!! You shame the bargain hunter in me.

    They’re all beautiful. My only fear would be quality… I’d have to be able to see it in person. But for $200, maybe it’s worth the risk??

    If I were getting married now (well, with my 1996 body…) I’d be all over that first one. Gorgeous.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  5. By the way, don’t buy wholesale flowers. Mine have wilted, the day before my wedding, and so now I have grocery store flowers tomorrow. Good night.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  6. The last is my fave. If I had it to do over again, I’d pick one like that. Mr. Shu & I eloped 2 days before he was deployed to Iraq, so there was no time/budget for a “gown”. My dress was about $70!

    It’s weird, I’ve never wanted a big wedding (and honestly the idea of all those people staring at me kind of creeps me out) but I kind of have wedding dress envy. You know that episode of Friends where Monica & Phoebe try on the dresses? Yeah, thats me. Lol.

    Comment by shu_shu | May 22, 2009 | Reply

  7. April, I rarely, rarely comment, but your post is making it impossible for me to not! The fist dress is the same dress I wore for my wedding this past October. I tried it on as a fluke for my mom and the minute I put it on, I knew it was the one. It was a great dress for me… thought you might want to know! Cheers!

    Comment by kipper | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  8. *I meant to say the fiRst dress, btw. Heh.

    Comment by kipper | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  9. kipper: LOL! Hopefully your typo was of the “Obama fisting” variety, or else that would be quite some wedding night!

    Comment by SeaKat | May 23, 2009 | Reply

  10. I’m all for cheap wedding dresses, but not counterfeit. The last one is a rip off from Jim Hejlm, they even took the picture right off the website….not good, not reputable or trustworthy IMO

    Comment by Ash | May 24, 2009 | Reply

  11. PS: HAPPY WEDDING CHELSEA!!!

    Comment by shu_shu | May 24, 2009 | Reply

  12. Yes, Congrats, Chelsea!!

    Comment by SeaKat | May 24, 2009 | Reply

  13. Thanks! I won’t say the wedding went off without a hitch, but it was gorgeous and lovely, and now I’m married! Major Squee!!!

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 25, 2009 | Reply

  14. Congrats to Mr. and Mrs. PETA Protector!!! And I’m happy to hear you had a great time, as it seemed you were not totally sure of the plans? Or am I confusing you with another recent TS bride?

    Comment by Stay, see? | May 25, 2009 | Reply

  15. That was probably me. My reception site bailed and had to be changed at the last second–surprisingly the new place (Restaurant Nora’s for those in DC) turned out to be absolutely perfect. Now you’ll excuse me, while I go eat some wedding cake.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 25, 2009 | Reply

  16. I love the last one – if it comes out the way it looks in the picture it’s amazing!

    I went the cheap way for my wedding too and I got a great day at half the price thanks to a bargaining, shameless, unethically obnoxious Mom. Thanks Mom! You’re the best swindler I know… ::sniffle::

    Don’t let ANYONE tell you it’s the best price they can give you – you can always get lower – tell them you found the same thing online for half the price and they will meet or beat it a lot of times.

    Comment by Bizzzzle | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  17. white is always the best color for wedding dresses

    Comment by wholesale wedding dress | July 8, 2009 | Reply

  18. Fantastic set! Beautiful couple! And pretty bridesmaid team in fuchsia bridesmaid dresses, Great work!!!

    Comment by eastbridal | November 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

