uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random Drunk Emission

Sci-fi Editionts-scifi

I’m a sucker for a good sci-fi movie or show. I can’t help it. I know it makes me a dork, but it’s like witnessing a car crash.  I just can’t look away. I’ve had a sick obsession with Dr. Who for awhile now. I’ve seen every episode but I keep watching them over and over. Today I found myself watching Aliens for the eleventy-billionth time. Anything that has to do with outer space or aliens will do really. I hate the series Star Trek, but I saw the movie and now I can’t get it out of my head. The movie was freaking amazing. I often wonder what my life would be like if these things weren’t fiction but, in fact, reality. Would I be happy living through these events?  Would I be scared and confused? There’s something oddly romantic and fascinating about the unknown, and the dreamer inside me loves the idea that someday the impossible could be possible. I’ll pass on the tin foil hat–I want to be aware when the impossible becomes possible.


May 18, 2009 - Posted by | Random Drunk Emissions | ,

13 Comments »

  1. My favorite part about Star Trek: they could wrap her up in a shroud and lay on the makeup, but they couldn’t get the crazy out of Winona Ryder’s eyes.

    And the answer to your question is yes, I still would.

    Comment by MC Poetry | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. You know, you don’t have to keep re-watching the current Doctor Who. I highly highly recommend watching Doctors #1-#4. I’ve seen most if not all of Doctors #5, 6, and 7, and they’re good too. But those early years were definitely the best, at least of the original series. I’m sure I’ve said several times that #4, Tom Baker, is my favorite.

    Anyway, there’s just so much more to understand while watching the current show when you know the history. Oh yeah, and those early years had Roger Delgado around a lot as the Master.

    Comment by Skaði | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. TOM BAKER SQUEE!

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’d like to exterminate his Dalek if you know what I’m saying.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’ve watched the older episodes but the newer ones have a special place in my heart. I spent all day yesterday watching all of the aliens movies and Independence Day. All in all it was a good day. 🙂

    Comment by Deimos | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. DAVID TENNANT SQUEE!

    Just sayin’.

    Comment by Busey's Acolyte | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  7. I know what you mean. The newer ones are shiny, lol. The Doctor definitely has a lot more depth now.

    Comment by Skaði | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  8. Only 2 or 3 more specials and he’s gone. 😦 David’s my second favorite, and that’s a very very close second.

    Jason and I just watched The Ruby in the Smoke and The Shadow in the North to get a feel for Matt Smith. I still don’t know what I think of him.

    Comment by Skaði | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  9. He has no eyebrows in the promo pic! I cannot agree with a Doctor that has no eyebrows.

    Comment by Deimos | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  10. Maybe they just don’t regenerate? Not enough power in the tardis? that’s also why he’s like 12?

    And why is the doctor getting younger every year?

    Comment by TheHobo | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  11. Tennant’s actually a lot older than he looks (37 I think), and he wasn’t the youngest. Before him the youngest was Peter Davison who became the Doctor when he was 29.

    Comment by Skaði | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  12. I have always said (and probably always will) that 37 is the age at which a man is most ideal. Old enough not to be a complete child, and at the perfect phase of his hotness.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  13. Yay! My husband is 37! But only for 2 more months. And then the long creep towards decrepitude begins…

    (Actually, he’s super-fit, so I’m not too worried. He’ll be the cute old dude, while I’m the old lady w/an oxygen tank strapped to her wheelchair… Damn you, asthma, for making imaginary, old me less appealing than imaginary, old him!! )

    Comment by SeaKat | May 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

