uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Random-dome!!!

Catch Us Up on You

lolpred

Here at Thundersquee!, we believe in freedom of speech and self-expression. To show you just how much we believe, we’ve decided to give you a little corner where you can spew forth whatever happens to pop into your mind. Angry? Tell us about it. Happy? Shout it from the rooftops. Drunk as hell? Write an incoherent rant that nobody will understand. There’s only one rule: If you have to fight amongst yourselves, leave the shivs and chains at home.

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Random-dome! |

35 Comments »

  1. I don’t know if I should accept a second date with a guy I’m not that into on the same weekend as a fourth date with a guy I kind of am into.

    On the other hand…Ren Faire!

    Comment by TheHobo | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. TH: The second date would be a ren faire?

    Comment by Lily the Pink | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. i somehow managed to fall asleep in the MRI tube while it was clicking and humming and generally being a loud asshole.

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. STM: Well, it’s boring and long and you’re not allowed to do anything but breathe, so I can’t blame you. As long as you only shooed, though…no honking allowed.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7rMquzJg8I ← Greatest thing ever.

    Comment by rl | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  6. I’m on my way to drunk as hell, I’m getting married in a week, the wedding is becoming all that I didn’t want it to be, but I’m okay since the marriage is all I want it to be, and I don’t want to work tomorrow.
    Oh, and I told a co-worker I’d babysit for her in the morning before I go to work. Good idea, Chelsea.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  7. Chelsea, we even posted a little something for you today…;)

    Comment by Cait | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  8. I love it Cait! I love that post so much I’ll marry it if my fiancee gets cold feet.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  9. I’m blue da ba dee da ba di, da ba dee da ba di

    Well, I’m not. I’m doing good. But that song won’t go away.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  10. bfm: Yeah, that’ll stick in your head pretty good.

    For a more 80’s catchy tune, I’ve had Dracula’s Tango by Toto Coelo stuck in my head, on and off, for several months. I recommend it, while also not recommending it.

    Comment by rl | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  11. I can pick out a pair of shoes in half the time it takes my husband. Is there something wrong with that?

    Comment by Deimos | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  12. I had a craptastic day at work.

    The short version. I work with family…they are my brother’s in-laws. I applied for a school program that is only full-time, but I thought there was an opportunity for me to do only select courses. Unfortunately, I found out during the interview, which was 2 weeks ago that I wasn’t eligible for that and I didn’t tell my bosses that because I didn’t know if I would be accepted or not, so why cause drama when there wasn’t need for any. Then I got an email yesterday saying I was accepted.

    I told my bosses that I got accepted and they first congratulated me and then asked what that meant. I said that I don’t know if I’m going to accept it or not and I would like to think about it. I knew they didn’t like my answer, but there wasn’t anything else I could say.

    Later on in the day, they talked to me about it in the meeting room and told me that they didn’t like how I told them because they said they were
    1) upset I didn’t tell them as soon as I found out that the program was only full-time, and
    2)that I didn’t tell them immediately that I may consider full-time.

    I was completely insulted and pissed off and scared all at the same time during our “discussion” and mad at myself for how I handled it. I even lied during our talk saying I didn’t know sooner that I was only eligible for full time, when really I knew at the interview and then I recanted saying I did know earlier. GOD DAMMIT! I’m so mad at myself for doing that. But we do stupid things when we’re being verbally attacked and admonished and scared. What really pissed me off was that I’m not obliged to tell my employer my plans until I know for sure, but because we’re related, more is expected of me, I guess.

    Now everything is fucked up at work and I don’t want to go back and it makes it worse that we’re related.

    I really really want to accept the offer and go to school full-time, but the money and timing is kind of off.

    Sorry, that was really long. What a shitty start to my long weekend.

    Comment by rumour has it | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’m so sorry! Your family sounds like passive aggressive controlling office people though. I forgot midway through that you were related to them, and I was like, ugh they sound like the classic selfish prick bosses. Sorry to insult but they better not treat you wrong. You know we’re not afraid to brick around here.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  14. Thanks bfm! I have been unhappy working there for the past couple years. It used to be fun, but the things that I thought I could live with, are now those things that make it difficult for me to enjoy working there. I’ve tried bringing up to one of my bosses the things I don’t like, but I guess I wasn’t being direct enough. Also, whenever I finally feel confident in what I’m doing at work, something will be said to me that just takes all that confidence away. And I always feel like I’m being given contradictory information or instructions or approvals. Anyways, I could go on for ever with some more woe as me, but I need to stop and get my mind off it. Le sigh!

    Comment by rumour has it | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  15. rumEr-

    i recommend one million CCs of beer.

    STAT!

    🙂

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  16. http://gaygamer.net/2009/05/video_muscle_man_march.html <—- NEW greatest thing evar!

    Also, rumor, just be a complete psycho hose beast for a month. Force yourself to be the most vile asshat ever. Then say, “see what you made me do?” and go back to normal. Teach those motherfuckers a lesson. Even if you don’t feel it at first, if you say, “go fuck yourself,” enough it becomes truth. Fake it ’till you make it!

    Comment by HolyChow | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  17. HC – truer words were never spoken.

    Comment by shu_shu | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  18. thanks stm and holychow!

    I didn’t have any beer on hand last night, so I just watched some 30 rock and ate some pizza. 🙂

    HolyChow – I sooooooooooooo wish I had the balls to do that.

    My other plan is to play the lottery until I win, that shouldn’t take me too long, right? I think it’s a solid plan.

    Comment by rumour has it | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  19. p.s. i’m watching some Bale in Batman tonight as a little pick me up.

    Comment by rumour has it | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  20. baaaaaaaaale!

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 16, 2009 | Reply

  21. baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaale +1

    Comment by shu_shu | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  22. rumour, I’m so sorry. Dreading going to work every day is a horrible feeling.

    You know, as an employee, you had no requirement to inform them of your plans, other than to give a reasonable notice when you leave. (Around here, it’s typically 2 weeks… it may vary in Canada, of course.)

    Perhaps, as family, they had a right to expect more from you. HOWEVER, that cuts both ways. YOU had a right to expect to not be harangued and picked at for what is, frankly, a minor infraction.

    If they continue to give you shit, you may want to calmly address the issue. (“Calmly” is important! If you get too emotional, you’ll lose all power here. Practice until it’s rote.)

    Saying something like. “Since our meeting on Friday, the tone around here has been very uncomfortable to me. I realize now that not telling you that I *might* be *considering* making a change that would affect you and the business was a mistake. I am genuinely sorry. However, as an employee, the expectation is that I give 2 weeks notice. We are related, though, and I realize this may have caused you to expect more notice from me. Fine, that is fair. But in return, as family, I expect you to understand that I made a mistake, I am sorry, and let it go. Can we agree to move on? I would sure hate for this to make it awkward at little Jimmy’s (or some other young ‘un) graduation!”

    Be reasonable, state your case, and end with some levity to lighten the mood. If, after that, they continue to act like asshats, well…they’re giving YOU notice that you’ll be miserable for as long as you stay on there. Make your future plans with that knowledge in mind.

    Hope this helps. I’ve been there and it took me 3 years to finally leave. I spent 6 months KICKING myself for staying as miserable as I was, as long as I did, simply out of fear of change. Don’t make the same mistake that I did!

    Comment by SeaKat | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  23. I work for family because nothing is expected of me. Your situation seems to defeat the purpose, random.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  24. Haha! Random? I meant rumour. God, I have had a little too much alk.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  25. BTW, I was explaining to my hubby that I was late for cocktails on the deck b/c I was writing you a note, Rumour. After explaining your whole situation, my husband said:

    “She shouldn’t apologize. She didn’t do anything wrong. Was she supposed to tell them she *might* be leaving?? Hell no. That would just cause consternation when none may be necessary. The inlaws are being jerks and she doesn’t owe anyone an apology.”

    He’s normally VERY good at career advice. So, per Mr.SeaKat, “Fuck them. They’re being dicks. She should quit ASAP.”

    Also, hurricaines (the drink) – very yummy.

    Good luck, rumour (randoUm), dear!

    Comment by SeaKat | May 17, 2009 | Reply

  26. LOL…you guys are awesome and I feel loads better reading all of your advice and encouraging words. All of my friends I’ve been talking to about it this weekend have pretty much echoed the same sentiments. When I retell the story, I do try to emphasise my poor decision in telling my bosses anything about the acceptance email until I had made a final decision. My friends all said I need to deal with them like any other employer and that yeah, I should not have told them I was accepted until I had made a final decision. I’m just still shocked by the reaction.

    And yes, in Canada, the norm is to give 2 weeks notice. However, the program doesn’t start until September (except for a week long computer training course in August), so I could and would give them more notice. Also, my bosses said it will take longer than two weeks for them to find someone suitable to fill my position. I’m not sure who they will find who is willing to do the variety of work I do.

    Also, the money thing is a problem. I have a stupid mortgage that I won’t be able to afford once I’m in school, so I’m looking into putting it onto the market. Just waiting for my real estate agent to get back to me. Then I have to find a place to live and I really don’t want to move back home with my parents….sheesh! Anyways, lots to think about.

    I just have to keep telling myself that getting into this Interior Design BA program is an opportunity that I can’t pass up. They only accept 20 students per year and this year they had 60 applicants. You have to submit a portfolio, perform a test that consists of drawing and drawing comprehension and then do a group interview with 4 other applicants and 3 instructors. It wasn’t easy. I don’t want to repeat all that time and effort again next year and then not get in if the competition is much stiffer. I’m not in my 20s anymore and I don’t want to be in my 40s regretting my decision to put it off.

    P.S. I’m so changing my name to random!!!!!!

    Comment by rumour has it | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  27. Don’t forget the “U”~

    randoUm has it

    Congrats on getting in to such a challenging program!! You won’t regret going back to school — even if you have to live with your parents again — it’s just for a short time, right? I hope it all works out!

    Your inlaws have a bad case of the narcissims! How long it takes for them to fill the position isn’t exactly your problem, now is it?? Dickwads.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  28. That’s great. Congrats, it sounds like a good program.

    “Drawing and drawing comprehension” really tickles me for some reason…does the form say “PLEASE DRAW A CAT” and then you have to draw a cat, and they have to be able to tell it’s a cat?

    I don’t mean to make fun of it at all. I would not be able to pass the above test. 🙂

    Comment by MC Poetry | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  29. I picture it more like that episode of Seinfeld where Elaine doesn’t understand the cartoon in that newspaper. It sounds like you have to be able to get what the cartoon means, and then you have to get the meaning approved by J. Peterman.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  30. Thanks for all the kind words, guys. 🙂

    The drawing comprehension is just what I call the section of the test where we had a list of shapes in plan view and/or elevation/side view and/or 3-D. But for each shape, one of those options was missing, so you had to look at the other drawings to figure it out. I don’t know if I made sense there.

    Man, I so don’t want to go into work tomorrow.

    Comment by randoUm | May 18, 2009 | Reply

  31. I just watched the BAAAALEEE! in Rescue Dawn. It was depressing. There was no sexy anywhere. I’m really bummed out.

    Comment by cookiebees | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  32. Rescue Dawn sounds like a new Proctor and Gamble dish detergent.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  33. “Bale?”
    “You’re soaking in it!”

    Comment by SeaKat | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  34. RandoUm! So…how were the in-laws?? How’d it go?

    Comment by SeaKat | May 20, 2009 | Reply

  35. Hey SeaKat…well I decided on the advice of many people to take the approach of letting them bring it up again.

    Then my brother (the one I work with) asked me to go to lunch today and paid for my meal at a semi-posh restaurant. He basically reiterated to me the same thing my bosses said to me last Friday except without the high emotions.

    My plan was not to say too much, but he pulled out of me how unhappy I am working there and my reasons why. Although, I didn’t reveal all my reasons. I am just so exhausted from it all. I hope nobody asks me tomorrow if I’ve made a decision because I haven’t.

    This is so stressful. I’ve barely eaten all week and am not sleeping well. Hence the late night post. I guess the plus side is the not eating has I think led to some weight loss or maybe I’m just hallucinating that my ass isn’t as fat as it used to be.

    Comment by randoUm | May 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

