uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Unusual Punishment

I do this without being forced

maury-christmasRaise your hand if you like watching the “Who’s the daddy?” episodes of Maury. Now put your hand down because nobody can see it anyway. It appears that Maury is now being used as punishment (if you ask my husband it’s been punishment for years). Judge Wade McCree in Detroit, MI is making losers who don’t pay their child support watch the show so they will realize that they suck. Apparently this is going to make them see the light and turn over a new leaf or something. Somehow I find it hard to believe that an episode of Maury is going to do anything other than slightly bore someone for an hour. They’re not going to watch it and go “Oh man, I never realized that I was not taking care of my baby. I’m just like that dude!” If anything they’ll start wanting paternity tests. Maury will receive an insane amount of calls from the Detroit area–so many that he’ll have a Detroit special. The real winner here is Maury.

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | Daily Whims | ,

14 Comments »

  1. I hate all these lowbrow shows like Springer, Maury, etc.

    I know that most of it is staged, but it’s not exactly elevating the human spirit to watch or participate.

    I know Oprah has started to believe her own press the last several years, has gotten big-headed, etc. And the James Frey debacle was ridonkulous. But compared to Maury, Springer and all of the those daytime tv courtroom shows? I’d still rather watch Oprah, by a hot mile.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. 🙂 bfm

    And in the words of Michael Jackson “the chair is not my son”.

    Comment by cooter jean | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. I could never stand to watch those shows either.

    Or Cops. I really don’t want to see the worst of humanity, thanks very much. I’d like to think of people as good, and worth saving…

    Comment by TheHobo | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ok…so I hate Springer, and Montel, and all the Judge Whoever shows, but Maury is a once in awhile indulgence. The “You are NOT the Father!” episodes are terrific. I saw a woman who’d been on the show like 3 times, and each time the guy she fingered as her baby daddy was NOT the father. Seriously, how many people can you bone in a one or two week period? But Maury also does huge cosmetic makeovers for disfigured kids and makes me cry with joy for them. Also, I’m a dork.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. Oh, and the baby momma kept being all, “Maury, I am 100% sure so-and-so is the father.” while Maury is trying to explain that she said that last time, and she was wrong…it should have won an Emmy or something.

    And the ones where they have sonogram pictures up on the wall behind the stage, and the guy is going, “Maury, that can’t be my baby. He doesn’t have my ears, he doesn’t have my ears…” and getting all indignant over A SONOGRAM. My niece looked like Sloth in her sonogram (don’t tell my sister.)

    Maury’s just good television.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. Chelsea, sounds like she had yet to figure out that you can’t get pregnant from fingering a guy.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. BFM…wow! hahahaha!

    Comment by TheHobo | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. Maury is such a guilty pleasure for me. Whenever I am “working from home,” I always take my laptop down to the living room so that I can watch Maury and still look busy at the same time.

    Chelsea, there is one chick who has been on there like 5 or 6 times and has actually had about 15 guys tested to see if they are the father of her child. The last time, she brought 5 guys with her and NONE of them was the father. I think she just wants a free trip.

    Comment by Helen Skor | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. Helen- you’re thinking of Marisol. She has 4 or 5 kids and doesn’t know who fathered any of them.

    Comment by Deimos | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. Oh, yeah, I think that must be her. Thanks, Deimos.

    Comment by Helen Skor | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. You know BFM, I had the same thought when I wrote that (or when I write or say anything about fingering) and decided to go with it anyway. Now let’s giggle like middle schoolers and agree never to grow up. It’s like my version of Peter Pan

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  13. Teeheeheehee!

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  14. “You have to believe that farts are funny, or Tink will DIE!!”

    Comment by SeaKat | May 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

