uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mondegreen of the Week

You’re So Vain, Carly Simon

You had me several years ago when I was still quite naive
Well, you said that we made such a pretty pair and that you would never leave
But you gave away the things you loved, and one of them was me
I had some dreams they were clowns clouds in my coffee
Clowns clouds in my coffee, and

You’re so vain
You probably think this song is about you
You’re so vain
I’ll bet you think this song is about you
Don’t you? Don’t you?

I had some dreams they were clowns clouds in my coffee
Clowns Clouds in my coffee, and

You’re so vain
You probably think this song is about you
You’re so vain
I’ll bet you think this song is about you
Don’t you? Don’t you?

See full lyrics here.


(thanks to KeeblerKahn for the idea!)

May 13, 2009 - Posted by | Mondegreen of the Week | , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Wait, what’s the lyric?

    Clouds, or clowns? I’m confused…

    Comment by TheHobo | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. um…. yeah… whoops!

    the post is fixed. and it’s “clouds.” thanks for the heads up!

    😀

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. This song always makes me wonder the same thing – who the crap dates a man who wears an apricot scarf? That’s grounds for bye-bye, TMIMO.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wait. You had one eye in the mirror as you watched yourself gavat? What is that word? I always thought it was “go by.”

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’ll be dang. http://www.thefreedictionary.com/gavotte

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. gavotte is a type of dance, i think.

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. It HAS to be go by. Gavotte — no way. NO WAY.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. Holy CRAP. I never caught the part about the apricot scarf, either. If a man is doing an obscure French peasant dance from, like, the Regency era or so…

    I’ve got no sympathy for any chick who chooses to date him after doosh-alerts like these.

    This song is dead to me now. DEAD, I say.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. I looked it up a long time ago–and it always bugged me because the song WAS about him. So, he was right.

    Comment by TheHobo | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. good point, thehobo. i think she wrote the song about either cat stevens (with whom she had an affair i think before he had an affair with, i want to say carole king… i read a whole article about those singer songwriters back then, and basically they were all banging one another) or james taylor.

    either way, you’re right. it was about him!

    Comment by stopthemadness | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. I had heard it was about Warren Beatty.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. Remember when she auctioned off the truth about it? Some dude paid tons of money to find out who it was about. I’m sure it was for charity. Anyway I am guessing it’s a combo of like 90% Warren Beatty and 10% other guys.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  13. I always heard Warren Beatty, too. Who, incidentally, is now dead to me, due to his apricot scarf wearin’, obscure French peasant dance-doin’ ways.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 15, 2009 | Reply

  14. I always thought it was about Kris Kristofferson. I also thought she was drinking clowns in her coffee, so what do I know.

    Comment by KeeblerKahn | May 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

