uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Afternoon Awesome

Wanda Sykes on Fire at the White House Correspondents’ Dinner

The White House Correspondents’ Dinner took place on Saturday.  Wanda Sykes was the key note comedian, making her the first openly gay African-American woman to be the featured comedian at the Beltway’s version of the Oscars. It’s the year of the black and the gay, I tell you!

Here’s Wanda Sykes killing it:

Part Two after the jump.


It’s comedy gold, people.  Her awesome bawdy joke about Sarah Palin, her gentle ribbing of the Obamas, her jokes at Sean Hannity and Timothy Geithner’s expense, and the coup de grâce– the Rush Limbaugh joke in Part Two [2:48 marker.]

Brilliant.

May 11, 2009 - Posted by | Afternoon Awesome | , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Awesome.

    Poor President Obama, I’m sure there were a few moments when he felt like he ought not smile, but just couldn’t help it. (Rush Limbaugh jokes, for example).

    Also — Sean Hannity can’t take waterboarding! I could break Sean Hannity just by putting him in the middle seat in coach.

    AHHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAAA!

    Comment by SeaKat | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. The coach line was probably my favorite.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Oh, that was awesome!

    I am totally telling those jokes tomorrow 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I think we as Americans need to start a national petition to get Michelle Obama to start a blog. I love her. I think she’s amazing. I would love for her to write either a daily or weekly article in either a newspaper or a blog. She could cover everything from her kids, fashion, volunteer work, political issues….it would be great.

    Comment by blah | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’m behind that idea, blah. Just by writing a blog, I think she would do more to provide a positive female role model than Palin ever would have done as VP.

    Comment by WhoMee | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  6. Do you think Wanda Sykes would date a married, straight, white girl with a kid? Because I kind of want her to be my girlfriend. Or, at least, hang out with me in my garage and drink beer.

    Comment by shu_shu | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. shu_shu: I’m down with the hanging out idea.

    This is why I have daydream “rock and roll” parties.

    Get her and Aisha Tyler in the same place and you would Not. Stop. Laughing.

    And Jon Stewart. Oooh…okay, pick your comedians people for your ultimate comedian dinner party!

    I’ve got: Wanda, Aisha, Jon, and I want Tina Fey, Steve Martin, and…(how many do we get? 8 people at the table, and you’re one of them?)

    She’s a writer, but a very funny one: Laurie Notaro. And finally…Lily Tomlin. Because woman still has it and someone needs to keep Martin in check. 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  8. I want to be the fly on the wall @ Hobo’s party. 🙂

    This will require some thought. I’m pretty sure Jim Gaffigan would make my list, tho. I would make him do the Hot Pockets bit over and over and over…or else he’d suffer.

    It would be like Misery, only with Hot Pockets.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  9. ok, well i just read that as “I want to be the fly on the wall @ Hobo’s panty,” and i just thought, well that’s weird. and definitely unhygienic.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | May 12, 2009 | Reply

  10. can it be dead or alive? mitch hedberg.

    and

    louis c.k.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | May 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

