uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Urgent: Polar Bears Need You, Today!

Your voice, that is. Not as a snack…at least not right now…

irem_polar_bear

I might be willing to eat your face off, but I'm seriously cute and don't deserve this shit.

Squeer! AdmittedlyAddicted knows we at Thundersquee! love us some animals, so she sent in an urgent call for mobilization. The Animal Rescue Site is asking for your help today, and all it takes is a minute of your time. It is urgent, and has to be today, though.  Here’s the info from their site.

Interior Secretary Ken Salazar and Commerce Secretary Gary Locke have stopped short of reversing an 11th hour regulatory change by the Bush administration, which denies polar bears and other endangered species vital Endangered Species Act protections from the threat of global warming.

President Obama signed a law that gives Interior Secretary Ken Salazar and Commerce Secretary Gary Locke the power to withdraw this damaging regulation, but their deadline to act is May 10th! If they fail to take action by this date, the regulation stays in effect and polar bears and other wildlife on the brink of extinction will lose legal protection they need to survive. Act now; sign the petition and tell a friend.

They need 20,000 participants by the end of the day to reach their goal. You can sign the petition here.  Please, make your squee! count!

As a reward for your efforts, here’s a crazy, yet adorable Japanese polar bear video from Lisa(#1).


May 8, 2009 - Posted by | Daily Whims | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry, but that video pissed me off. Yes, the baby polar bear is adorbble and I wanted to rub my face in its belly, but I hate hate hate seeing animals in zoos like this one. Especially large animals that have vast migratory paths and especially animals that require interaction with or companionship with its own species. I was kind of hoping he would attack his keeper.

    Comment by rumour has it | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the heads up on the campaign! Did anyone else get a random attachment on the email confirmation they sent after you signed the petition? I couldn’t tell what was attached, and as a rule I don’t open attachment emails unless they’re from friends / coworkers. I opened this one, to verify my petition signature though. Just wondering if anyone knows what the attachment was for so I can mention it in my repost & the email I’m going to send out.

    Comment by Stay, see? | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. Also, rumour, I’m totally with you on zoos. I didn’t watch this vid, but zoos make me so sad. I understand the value that zoos provide – I think people are more likely to care about the welfare of a species if they get to actually see that animal in person – but I feel like only injured and rehabbed animals that could not survive in the wild should be used for this purpose.

    Comment by Stay, see? | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. Read Life of Pi. It totally changed my perspective on zoos. (I used to hate them. Now I think that well-managed zoos that provide similar habitats to what the animals would find in the wild are OK for most animals.)

    Again, I’m not saying all zoos are great for all animals. But it sure gave me an interesting argurment for the other side.

    Also, it’s just a very interesting book.

    Comment by SeaKat | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. Why are they not protecting the bears? Haven’t they seen the commerical with the momma bear and the baby bear on the iceberg and they are obviously hungry, and the baby bear is trying to snuggle into his mommy’s fur to keep warm and then I have to change the channel so I don’t cry? Haven’t they seen it?! They need to watch that commercial now.

    Comment by Helen Skor | May 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

