uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Hate Things

Conference calls Edition

conferenceDon’t you hate it when you get sucked into and hour and a half  long conference call that you really didn’t need to be a part of? Isn’t even worse when the call could have been 15 minutes if the other people on the line would have saved their dumbass questions for another time? I don’t need to know about your business.

Here’s my situation. Two of my coworkers are out tending to their daughters’ needs right now; so that leaves three of us plus the receptionist to take care of everything. Once I hang up with one disgruntled plumber or wholesaler I immediately have to listen to another. Forcing me to participate in an overly long conference call while someone asks insipid questions forces me to leave the other two poor souls to answer all the calls while I  listen to crap I already know.

So, great, dude;  you got to stroke your ego and feel like you accomplished something. I’m happy for you.  Thank you for wasting my time.  Have a nice day.

I know I can’t be the only one that has had to sit in on some sort of corporate masturbation when they’ve had better things to do. Tell me about your shining example of others wasting you precious time.

May 6, 2009 - Posted by | I Hate Things | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ugh I have one of these once a week. I really hate when we take on a new client and we go around the room introducing ourselves to a phone. I feel like a jackass.

    Comment by silent noodles | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. I once fell asleep during a conference call and snored all the way through it, little over an hour. I used to run a photo lab and once a month or so we had 7 a.m. conference calls. The regional manager set one on a day I had off. I never got weekdays off so I figured I log in and listen but there was no way I was getting out of bed. About ten minutes into I fell asleep and snored quite loudly I’m told. When I woke up I knew I had been snoring and thought I was screwed. There were only a few men on the call that morning.I didn’t find out until later that everyone had to listen to me. Luckily for me everyone assumed it was our district manager who did it.

    One of the other manager who was a friend of mine said something about how she couldn’t believe how loud the DM was snoring and I told her it was me. I was in the clear because one of the other guys on the call sounded a lot like me had asked a question and the regional manager thought it WAS me. The regional manager and the DM were friends so it’s not like he got in any real trouble. I guess he must have fallen asleep too because he took the blame for it.

    Comment by KeeblerKahn | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  3. Keebles, that’s awesome! I wish I got away with stuff like that.

    Comment by Addicted to Addiction | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’ve been out of the weekly-conference-call world for over a year, and now I have to find a way back in. This is one of many things that makes me want to chew my own foot off before I even start sending out resumes.
    Also: Keebs, I’m taking note of this so I can try to work it in to future conference call talks… “Can you believe our boss, snoring on his OWN conference call?” Fingers crossed!

    Comment by Sarah | May 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

