uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Souter, I Hardly Know Her*

*I am well aware I have used this joke before.

ts-scotusJustice David Souter is planning retirement and DC, my friends, is in a tizzy! You see, a justice on the more liberal side of the court will leave his seat open–likely to be filled by a justice on the more liberal side of the court. Basically it will be a zero-sum game. Where is the story, you ask? Well, either it will invigorate conservatives, or liberals; or it will tarnish the Obama administration, or enhance it. What we do know is that some conservatives are already whinging. Wind-bag Wendy Long of the Judicial Confirmation Network (why is it that the nut-bad fringe organizations always pick the least partisan names? Take a look at their website – you will see a completely red-state map of the US and a TV spot about William Ayers.), said:

“The current Supreme Court is a liberal, judicial activist court. … If Obama holds to his campaign promise to appoint a Justice who rules based on her own ‘deepest values’ and what’s in her own ‘heart’ – instead of what is in the Constitution and laws – he will be the first American President who has made lawlessness an explicit standard for Supreme Court Justices.”

Wow. Just wow. I think she wins the award for Insanest Purposeful Misapprehension of a Presidential Quote and Logical Fallacy. What did Obama actually say?

“We need somebody who’s got the heart, the empathy, to recognize what it’s like to be a young teenage mom. The empathy to understand what it’s like to be poor, or African-American, or gay, or disabled, or old. And that’s the criteria by which I’m going to be selecting my judges.”

It will never stop amazing me just how much people wildly speculate in order to give themselves a forum for spouting their own opinions. Some people just LOVE to hear themselves talk and will torture a platform out of anything. So, to reiterate: out goes a liberal judge, in comes a liberal judge. Maybe. Obama hasn’t *actually* nominated anyone yet.


May 1, 2009 - Posted by | Doosh Watch 2009, Politiks | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. As a (kinda) hockey fan, I like using that “I hardly know ‘er” joke for Chris Pronger. “Pronger? I hardly know ‘er.” Then, to see just how far I can push it, I apply it to any player name that’s mentioned. “Mellanby? I hardly know ‘er!” “Niedermayer? I hardly know ‘er!” “Getzlaf? I hardly know ‘er!” Etc., until my girlfriend (who’s more than ‘kinda’ a hockey fan) tells me to knock it off. Good times.

    Comment by Run-DMS | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. For the supreme court, I’d like to see a strongly pro-choice lesbian-wiccan-feminist nominee. That would give Rush Limbaugh a stroke.

    Comment by Run-DMS | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. that lady is a fucking idiot. SCOTUS is hardly made up of liberal activist judge. scalia? clarence? alito? roberts? hardly liberal.

    god, conservatives can be so irrational.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  4. here’s another one, run:

    anheiser busch? i hardly know her!

    Comment by DonnaMartin | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  5. “Insanest Purposeful Misapprehension of a Presidential Quote and Logical Fallacy award”

    Well now you’ve done it. You knew that rhetoric talk is on my list of turn-ons, right under thunderstorms and deep talks. Dammit. Well now I’m in love with you. I suppose it was only a matter of time before you used all your lawyer talk in the ultimate bfm-catching phrase.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  6. See, these are the kind of people who make stupid storm commercials.

    Because they are stupid.

    I’m serious–we need TS branded bricks to throw. I suppose they could be rubber… rubber bullets still hurt!

    Comment by TheHobo | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. Run- I get the same “Knock it off” when I repeatedly say Mike Babcock in a Canadian accent from my boyfriend. But, I give it right back to him when he talks about Don Cherry… Or when he says “mmm boobies” for the 19,000th time in a row.

    Can’t wait for the Wings game later! It will be a “Knock it off!” Show down!

    Comment by Mae | May 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

