uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Who Would You Rather?

Sister Sister Edition

Emily is best known for the role of Forensic Anthropologist Dr. Temperance Brennan on the FOX TV show Bones, while Zooey is better known for numerous movie roles and drooled over by geeks everywhere for her turn as Trillian in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Zooey’s also a talented singer and song writer.  They’re obviously both talented and intelligent women, but the question remains…

wwyr_deschanel

Emily Deschanel vs. Zooey Deschanel

[poll id=”31″]

April 30, 2009 - Posted by | Who Would You Rather? | , ,

22 Comments »

  1. Okay, I kind of feel bad for the older sister. Her career bloomed a lot later, and it’s gotta suck to have an extra talented little sister. On the other hand, Bones is one of the best female characters on TV, and it’s actually a pretty good show. Plus she’s also a producer on it.

    But Zooey was the best part of Yes Man and is adorable in everything she’s in.

    Torn…

    Gonna have to give my girl Bones a shout out this round. Yay for smart, capable female characters!

    Comment by ThatGirl | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. ThatGirl: I agree about the Bones role. It’s one of the most plum (plummest?) female roles on TV,TMIMO. I don’t feel too bad for Emily, though since I think maybe it comes down to them choosing different paths. I also think that Zooey had the luck of being cute and quirky at the right time, while Emily comes off more as the intelligent, Candace Bergen type of beauty, which, I think we’ve all noted isn’t all that much in demand in female roles… :/ I think they’re equally great, so I had to let my emotions choose this one. Ultimately they said pick Zooey because she’s named after Zooey Glass, the protagonist in Salinger’s Franny and Zooey, and that’s one of the books that shaped me. 🙂

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. I gotta say, I find Bones and the whole show to be highly annoying.

    Comment by Mae | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m jealous of Zooey Deschanel, so I voted Emily. I don’t know how to pronounce Zooey, and she always seems like she is hungover and has a cold. TMIMO!! But I loved her in Eulogy, and so did every man who saw it. So. Emily for the win.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. you do? why I neva… 🙂

    i’m gonna go with emily, zooey looks like she’d goof around during the entire ordeal, emily seems more passionate and direct.

    oh that and i LOVE bones!

    Comment by lava | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. dang it, sorry i thought i’d get that first comment in there for mae. apparently my time stamp is all sorts of messed up

    Comment by lava | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. Zooey, because she’s dark-haired, but Emily is a close second. I also loved Zooey’s character in Weeds, which is where I first saw her act.

    Comment by WhoMee | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. I have an undying allegiance to the movie Elf, and everyone in it.

    So, Zooey.

    Comment by vodkafanta | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  9. ELF! I was gonna say the same thing. I love the scene where she sings. She also happens to be in the shower which does nothing but aid to my girl crush on her.

    Comment by Chronically Constipated | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  10. bfm: Zoh-ee, like doughy if it began with a z.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  11. Oh. I guess I like her more now. I, too, have a useless silent letter in my name.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  12. Zooey was in a movie Tin man a remake of Wizard of Oz

    Comment by chelsea | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  13. Chelsea: and that’s why I almost voted for her. Can I have both?

    Comment by TheHobo | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  14. I read Tin Man and thought “The one with Billy Bob Thornton and John Cusak?” Then my brain kicked into the right gear and I remembered that was Pushing Tin. Could be worse. She could have been in Tin Cup.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  15. Was I the only one who didn’t know these two were sisters?

    Comment by shu_shu | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  16. I can’t vote for Zooey because she looks like Katy Perry.

    Comment by Deimos | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  17. Ha! At first, I thought she was Katy Perry too.

    Comment by WhoMee | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  18. The She & Him album tips it to Zooey IMHO. Well, that and The New Guy 🙂

    Comment by Stay, see? | April 30, 2009 | Reply

  19. I have a useless letter in MY name, too, bfm. So, Zooey it is, with a loud TSK, TSK to Katy Perry for jocking Zooey’s steeze.

    Comment by Sarah | May 1, 2009 | Reply

  20. That’s a lot of awesomeness for one family. But I had to go with Emily, because I feel like Zooey would talk the whole time, and I like more pensive lovers.

    Comment by Helen Skor | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  21. I like Emily & Zooey.

    They’re are cool togehter!

    Comment by Nevis200903 | June 10, 2009 | Reply

  22. Nevis: way to bring an old post back! 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | June 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

