uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Daily Bale

Bale Gaiman

I’ve met this Bale. We had a conversation about synaesthesiae that made me want to have his babies. He is exactly as he writes, but more charming and attractive when animated. I wholeheartedly recommend Good Omens by him and Terry Pratchett, or American Gods (may contain spoilers) by him alone, both of which explore religious concepts and belief in general (among other things) in an entertaining and thought provoking way. If you don’t know this Bale, I think you could enjoy getting to know him, quite a lot.

neil-gaiman

 

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | Daily Bale | ,

10 Comments »

  1. He is great – that’s so awesome that you got to meet him! Have you read Snow, Glass, Apples?

    Comment by Skaði | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I may have the title of that short story wrong. But it’s creepy and sexual and awesome.

    Comment by Skaði | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. Skaði: That’s right, and yes I have. I think it’s the best retelling of Snow White I’ve ever read. It’s certainly different from Disney’s version. 🙂

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  4. I have not read that yet and am now on a mission to get a hold of it.

    Also, Stardust, Neverwhere, and his “kids” books are awesome!

    LOVE this Bale! I want to be him, someday…

    Comment by TheHobo | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  5. http://alessandrasplace.blogspot.com/2008/09/short-story-review-snow-glass-apples.html

    This site has a link to the entire text, supposedly (I’m blocked by a firewall so I can’t verify that).

    Has anyone read or seen Coraline? I bought the book when it was first released because I love fables and I love Neil, then I found out a couple summers ago it was going to be made into a stop-action film and got really excited. I’m broke, so it hasn’t happened yet.

    Comment by Skaði | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  6. I LOVE THIS BALE!
    ::jumps on couch while clutching several issues of The Sandman::

    Comment by Sarah | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  7. Skaði: It had a link to the story. Here’s the direct link to it. http://www.geocities.com/SoHo/lofts/6656/snow.html

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  8. Skaði

    Saw Coraline in theater in 3D. Loved it! I also have a copy of the book on tape (CD) I keep meaning to listen to. My friends who went with to the movie saw it again, not 3D, and said it was def fun to rewatch.

    🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  9. 🙂 Oh, good! I’m glad it turned out well.

    Comment by Skaði | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  10. LOVED that short story!!!

    So dark…thanks for sharing!

    Comment by TheHobo | April 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

