uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rest in Peace, Bea Arthur

Traveled Down the Road and Back Again

ts-beaIt saddens Thundersquee! to report that Bea Arthur has died.  She was 86 years old.

I’m sad.  I love the Golden Girls.  I used to watch the Golden Girls with my grandma before she passed away last year.  In high school, I’d go over to her house to spend the night, and we’d order a pizza, pick up some ice cream from Friendly’s (always mint chocolate chip), and watch the Golden Girls.  My grandma, being an old white lady herself, was very excited to see a bunch of old white ladies on the TV who were still kicking ass, getting laid, and having the time of their lives.

RIP, Bea.  You were a sassy and marvelous woman.

Here’s a clip that will surely make you laugh:

April 25, 2009 - Posted by | People We Love | , ,

14 Comments »

  1. STM, I used to do the EXACT same thing with my grandmother. Dorothy was always her favorite character. Seeing as my grandmother just passed last week (and was only a year younger), I hope they are sitting in the newbie section sharing a VO and water together.

    Comment by madb | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. I did not hate Bea Arthur. I’m going to have a drink tonight in your honor, Dorothy. ❤

    Comment by Mae | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  3. I loved Dorothy! And…I used to watch the show all on my own…

    *hugs* Madb about your grandma. And *hugs* to Bea’s family. I hope she and your grandma are having some cheesecake right now…. 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  4. madb- i think my grandma would like to join that party. she’ll bring the bagels and lox. ❤

    Comment by stopthemadness | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  5. Then there’s no more maude. 😦

    Comment by cooter jean | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. Mae, i love your eulogy. I think that’s pretty much the highest compliment Mae can give.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  7. how sad. two of my best friends and i joke that we’re going to be the golden girls when we grow up. i was supposed to be dorothy.

    cheers, i think i’ll drink to bea this evening.

    Comment by karisitah | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  8. Karisitah she was 86 w/cancer so she had a pretty good run. She was the oldest on the show, older than estelle getty i believe. so really, not a bad one to be.

    Comment by madb | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  9. Is it fucked up that I am seriously misty eyed right now?

    Comment by shu_shu | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  10. I remember watching in high school- Saturday’s at 9pm on NBC. A true ensemble cast.

    Comment by missmeeky | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  11. Its not fucked up at all. I totally cried. Whats fucked up is that I’m worried about Betty White.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  12. shu_shu & Chelsea, I join you in your misty eyes. My college roommates and I were big into the GG – for some reason, the reruns always played right as we stumbled home for the night.

    Comment by Stay, see? | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  13. Rest in Peace, Bea. The fashion world will never be the same again.

    Comment by Helen Skor | April 26, 2009 | Reply

  14. Golden Girls is on RIGHT NOW! Thanks Hallmark Channel 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | April 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

