uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Own a Piece of Slumdog Millionaire

As long as you don’t mind human trafficking

rubinaRubina Ali–who played the young version of Latika in Slumdog Millionaire–is apparently up for sale by her father, Rafiq, and her uncle, Rajan. What is the going price for a slumpuppy, you ask? A mere $300,000.

Reporters from News of the World posed as prospective buyers. One of the reporters presented himself as an assistant to a wealthy Arab sheik. Another posed as a princess, the sheik’s wife. The interview they got is shocking.

Rubina’s father told the reporters, “I have to consider what’s best for me, my family and Rubina’s future.”

Rafiq tried to blame Hollywood for forcing him to put his daughter up for sale – I mean, adoption. “We’ve got nothing out of this film.”

His claim they got nothing isn’t actually true. The younger stars of the film actually got quite a lot. It just isn’t something their parents can access – more on that later.

Another of Rubina’s uncles, Mohiuddin, had this to say about her.  “The child is special now. This is NOT an ordinary child. This is an Oscar child!”

The family is trying to make a deal to cash in on Rubina by offering her up to the highest bidder while she is still famous. It not just the men in the family trying to cash in on her. Rubina’s mother, Khursheed, showed back up after abandoning Rubina when she was four to reclaim her after she got back from America and the Oscars.

And the family isn’t above selling other people’s kids either.

Before leaving their first meeting together, Rubina’s uncle pulled the
reporter to one side and told him:

“Besides Rubina, if you are interested in having a young boy then I can
arrange that. There are several available for adoption. Obviously you
won’t have to pay anything like the money for Rubina. Have a think and let
me know then I can arrange for you to meet the children and choose the one
you prefer.”

Of course now that the story has broke worldwide Rubina’s father is claiming that it was all a misunderstanding. He told People it was a “lie made up by foreign journalists playing games with me.”

He added:

“In India, you never say ‘no’ directly, least of all to guests. You try not to offend people by refusing to help. They said they were childless and desperately fond of Rubina after seeing her in the film. I felt sorry for them, but I was never going to give her up.”

Rubina, who I’m sure was told what to say by her father and uncles had this to say:

“I trust my father. He loves me. He has never said that he wants to give me up,” she said. “I did meet an uncle and auntie in a big hotel but it was not about adoption. I will never give any foreign journalist an interview again.”

You can read the whole article form the News of the World here. I highly recommend it, but be warned – it’s heartbreaking.

Both families of the so-called slumpuppies have continued to make demands for more money since Slundog Millionaire was released. Trust funds were set up for Rubina and Ayush Mahesh Khedekar (who played young Jamal in the film). Luckily for them, their parents can’t access them. The pair will get access to their trust funds when they turn 18.  Another fund established to provide for their education, medical emergencies and basic living costs.

For this girl’s sake I hope someone adopts/buys her just to get her away from her family. How effed up is your life when being adopted by someone like Dina Lohan is a quantum leap in the right direction? Dina may have screwed up her daughters but at least she never tried to sell them. Well, at least not that we know of.

Although it wouldn’t surprise me if Michael Lohan had tried to sell the lesser-known Lohans.  Come to think of it, when is the last time anyone saw Michael Jr. or Cody Lohan???

April 20, 2009 - Posted by | News You May or May Not Use | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry but I totally saw this shit coming. It’s so Hollywood to not actually give a crap about anyone. Big promises, but selfishness at the end of the day.

    On the other side of the same coin, it’s sooo stage dad to exploit people for money. So whether he is actually selling his kid (I have no idea if that’s tradition in his culture but nonetheless it’s totally shameful) or he’s just trying to get some cash from Hollywood… I’m not surprised at him either.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. This is just sad.

    Although, if you think about the nature of child stars, you could say that Dina DID sell Lindsay. Just, you know, one picture at a time.

    Comment by TheHobo | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. That is a terrible custom! Not saying “No” to a guest. That just boggles my mind. Guests can take advantage of that custom, you know.

    There’s ways to be polite and still convey the message: NO, you may NOT have my last beer.

    Comment by queencrone | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  4. I think it’s great the money is in a trust-fund. Look at how many AMERICAN child actors got screwed by their parents – and those kids come from a culture where you’re expected to fork everything over to your family.

    I’m also quite sure he tried to sell her. I read this article yesterday, and wasn’t surprised at all.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. Sadly, I’m one of those hostesses that offers up everything I have to my guests and then gets slightly miffed when they do decide to have some of my very expensive hot chocolate, and then tell me it’s “good!” while not drinking it, obviously having little to no taste.

    Not that happens or anything.

    Comment by TheHobo | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. This is unfortunately, not out of the ordinary in this part of the world. The fact that her dad is changing his story only goes to show how vile he knows this shit is.

    I saw the interview where the little girl said, “Whatever my dad said is the truth”. Awful. She’s so young and doesn’t even know any better.

    Comment by blah | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  7. oh hobo. i enjoyed using up your guest soaps and of course i noticed they were shaped like penguins and smelled of real lavendar. and the hot cocoa is delicious.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

