uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tears of a Wolverine

They all look guilty; it was probably one of them that did it.

ts-x-men-origins-wolverine-promo-pic_552x338

Hugh Jackman spoke about the leaking of his upcoming movie X-Men Origins: Wolverine online:

“It’s a serious crime and there’s no doubt it’s very disappointing – I was heartbroken by it.”  He went on to say “Obviously people are seeing an unfinished film. It’s like a Ferrari without a paint job.”


I don’t blame Jackman for being upset. This was his big movie and someone pulled the carpet out from under him. The version that hit the net was a nearly complete working print. Fox has said it doesn’t include the re-shoots they did and that there will be an extra ten to fifteen minutes in the film by the time it hits theaters.

Fox has the FBI looking into the leaking of the movie but the damage is done; Fox knows this will cost them at the box office. I think the print was leaked in retaliation over Fox taking the Watchmen movie hostage and forcing Warner Brothers into a corner.

To quote The Untouchables: “They pull a knife, you pull a gun. They put one of yours in the hospital, you put one of there’s in the morgue. That’s the Chicago way.”

I saw the movie and liked it, but it’s not for everyone.  I was disappointed in some of the things they did with the story but over all I thought it was pretty good. I’m a big Liev Schreiber fan and thought he kicked ass as Sabertooth. I was disappointed there wasn’t more of Ryan Reynolds in it, but I’ve read that more scenes with Reynolds are being added in with the re-shoots. If you liked the three X-Men movies you will like Wolverine. If you didn’t like the X-Men movies you might want to skip this one.

I’ll probably go see it in the theater if my friends want to go. I have a “friend” that watches almost all the new movies online instead of going to the theater. He watched Monsters vs Aliens online before I…I mean HE went and saw it in IMAX 3D. According to my “friend,” you can watch any movie online if you know where to look.

There is one person who probably wished he hadn’t watched it online; Foxnews.com columnist Roger Friedman got his ass fired over watching it. Well, for watching it and being a dumb ass and writing an article about it.

“Yes, I’ve seen “X-Men Origins: Wolverine. It wasn’t at a screening, either. I found a work in progress print of it, 95 percent completed, on the internet last night. Let’s hope by now it’s gone.”

Adding,

“I did find the whole top 10 [movies in theaters], plus TV shows, commercials, videos, everything, all streaming away. It took really less than seconds to start playing it all right onto my computer. I could have downloaded all of it but really, who has the time or the room? Later tonight I may finally catch up with Paul Rudd in I Love You, Man. It’s so much easier than going out in the rain!”

Dude. The first rule of Fight Club is you don’t talk about Fight Club. You sure as hell don’t write an article about it when you work for Fox yourself. Fox is out for blood and they don’t care whose it is. Roger Friedman just served himself up on a silver platter.




April 14, 2009 - Posted by | Movie Marquis | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Wow. That has to be the dumbest movie critic ever.

    “It’s so much easier than going out in the rain!”

    You know what’s also easier? Going to Rotten Tomatoes and avoiding people like him altogether.

    Poor Hugh. If he needs any shoulders to cry on, I’m available! Shirt optional. For either/both of us.

    Comment by TheHobo | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. *searches for the leaked copy.*

    Comment by Mae | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Ok I am gonna admit that I saw this unfinished copy.I thought to was good but the funniest part was the unfinished CGI… it would be this really dramatic scene and it would cut to the plane that was crashing and it was 8 bit graphics.

    Comment by silent noodles | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

