uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Afternoon Squee!

Bo Obama Squee!

Bo Obama (Named after FLOTUS Floozy Michelle Obama‘s father who was nicknamed “Diddley”) is now officially ensconced as first pet. He probably hasn’t walked 47 miles of barbed wire or worn a cobra snake for a necktie, but we’re guessing Sasha and Malia will take little walks with him and tell him who they love.

6a00d8341c630a53ef01156f1f9b5d970c-800wi

April 14, 2009 - Posted by | Afternoon Squee! | , ,

47 Comments »

  1. Great. Now I have the Name Song stuck it my head.

    Thanks SOOO much Bo Obama banana fana fo fama.

    Comment by queencrone | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yay for adopted dogs! I’m glad he didn’t go to a breeder. I volunteer at a shelter so I’m really glad he went this route. There are too many dogs that have to be euthanized every year just because we want designer dogs.

    Comment by blah | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. This dog looks like my first dog, which was a cockapoo. Very very cute choice, Obamas.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. bfm: Haha,in the recent comments your comment cuts off at “cock” which had me so intrigued I had to read the rest of the comment.

    Comment by oneofthevoicesinmyhead | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. Looks like a certain pot smoking dog’s relative. 6 DEGREES OF SEPARATION! We’ve infiltrated the White House! World domination is ours!!!!!!! *evil laugh*

    Comment by Mae | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. blah: He didn’t adopt from a shelter, but for sound reasons. Because Malia (I think) has allergies, they had narrowed down their search to either a Poodle or a Portuguese Water Dog and I think had their name on wait lists at a shelter(s). Ted Kennedy heard of this and they raise Portuguese Water Dogs and had recently placed a puppy in a home that didn’t work out for it and had to be returned to them, so he gave the dog to the Obamas as a gift. Not one to refuse a gift from a dying friend, they accepted Bo and gave a large donation to the local Humane Society instead.

    As a shelter volunteer myself, I wish they had been able to go with a shelter dog, but had the Kennedys not behaved as responsible breeders he would have ended up there, so he sort of is. I think responsible breeders should be applauded, and while he might have began life as a $1000 dog, his reject status is a little heart warming, so I can’t complain too much. I also understand the significance of the gift and can’t blame the Obamas for making the choice they did.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. Lily– Definitely puts things in perspective, and makes their choice seem more justified. Still, “responsible breeder” is an oxymoron, as you certainly know from your shelter work. More people should be like you!

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. mwahahahahahahahaha

    ahem

    MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  9. I know the puppy isn’t *exactly* a shelter dog, but it seems as if that’s where this little guy may have wound up.

    I’m amazed that people can have a dog for a decade, only to turn in the dog saying they didn’t want it anymore. I’ve seen the gammit from literally someone kicking a dog through the door to someone balling thier eyes out because they were living in thier car and just couldn’t afford the dog anymore.

    I know the economy has taken it’s toll on a lot of animals. I just hope that it encourages people who do have stable homes to adopt. My only fear is that this dog is now going to be the new craze and everyone will want one, only to dump them off when they realize what they got themselves into.

    Comment by blah | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  10. Both of my 2 dogs are rescues and I agree that it is an admirable way to get a dog. HOWEVER, I would like to point out that there are reputable breeders, and that by going to a reputable breeder and adopting a puppy, you at least know what you’re getting.

    As I said, we have 2 dogs. We only wanted one, but had to get a second due to the extreme separation anxiety our first dog, a Husky from the animal shelter, displayed.

    In our 12 years of owning him (and counting), we have tried multiple methods of containing him, including:
    *crating (broke out multiple times)
    *fenced yard (jumped over, dug under, and broke through)
    *chain link & concrete kennel (chewed through chain link gate, scaled walls)

    We repeatedly tried acclimation behavioral therapy, as multiple vets recommended. He’d do fine for a while and then would just revert — sometimes after a 10 minute errand, when he had been OK w/us being gone for an hour!

    In our 12 years of owning him, his Greatest Hits of Destruction include:

    * a digital camera
    * half the carpet (not rug!! CARPET) in the bedroom of a rental house
    * an exterior door, destroyed while breaking INTO the rental house, after being left in the yard

    He has also dug THROUGH a set of brand new, Ralph Lauren sheets, INTO the mattress, creating a cozy hidey-hole.

    Oh, there are more stories. We tried behavioral therapy, as mentioned, drug therapy (Clomicalm) and finally, we adopted another dog simply so he wouldn’t be alone.

    I’m not trying to talk anyone out of adopting from a shelter — my lab is a rescue and she’s a dream. I’m just pointing out that it’s not all sunshine and roses sometimes, and that, frankly — there are days when I’d give anything to get rid of him, no matter how horrible a person that makes me. Unfortunately, I do love him. I’d feel terrible putting him down and I just can’t imagine anyone else putting up with him!!

    I think he’s left enough of a mark on my psyche that I will probably **never** own another dog, once he’s gone. But if we do, you bet your bippy I’m going to a breeder so that I can minimize the chances of getting another dog like this one!!

    I’m sure I’ve just convinced 90% of you that I’m a horrible person. I’m really not, honest!

    Comment by SeaKat | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. Good god, that’s a long post!! SORRY!

    (Believe it or not, I actually edited it down by about half!! This dog has a long and storied history of terrible deeds… I tried to give y’all the Reader’s Digest version!)

    Comment by SeaKat | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  12. I like you SeaKat – and I trust your judgment here. Just putting my support behind you. Not to mention that I know plenty of people who feel some days like they would get rid of someone more important to them than their dog, if they could.

    I do not know much about this topic. But (at the risk of making an ass of myself) I spent a lot of time with my ex’s dog, who was a rescue – and it is a commitment. Some of those emotional issues, like aggression, were impossible to change after a certain point. If you want a dog your kids can raise (or that won’t tear up the White House’s priceless furniture) maybe rescues aren’t an ideal option.

    ::ducks::

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  13. Thanks, bfm. I **really** hesitated before hitting submit comment, b/c I worried I was about to get myself into a ton of doggy doo (see what I did there?) πŸ™‚

    I think the post could have been much shorter, had I not been so busy trying to show how hard we’ve tried with him.

    In a few short sentences, you nailed the crux of the issue: owning a dog, any dog, is a huge committment. And sometimes, there’s nothing you can do about certain core issues that can turn a major, but rewarding commitment into an “Oh, God, what have I DONE??” kind of life sentence.

    (Did I mention that our other dog, a rescue, is fantastic? Maybe the issue is just that you should never rescue Siberian Huskies from the pound…) πŸ˜›

    Comment by SeaKat | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  14. here’s my two cents:

    anything can happen.

    any dog you get is a huge commitment, whether from a breeder or from a shelter. and i don’t think getting a dog from a breeder ensures any less behavioral problems… or maybe it’s getting dogs from certain breeders who do all kinds of crazy cross breeding and pump out dogs with feet like chickens and faces like llamas doesn’t ensure less behavioral problems and it’s hard to tell the good breeders from the bad ones?

    there are sooooooo many dogs in shelters that need homes that i just don’t think paying a shit ton of money for a dog from some puppy farm makes any sense.

    that’s not to say there aren’t “responsible breeders.” but i’ll never forget seeing all those dogs’ faces staring up at me as i went to pick up my dog. it’s just heartbreaking. i wanted to take them all home.

    i fostered dogs for a while (i trained two particularly difficult dogs when i was unemployed a few years ago. one was a dalmatian who had a litter of puppies and had all of her puppies adopted away from her (she was supposed to go with the puppies but at the last minute the person who adopted them changed her mind.) i ended up placing her with a nice family. and the other was a shepherd rott mix who was INSANE IN THE MEMBRANE. this one nearly drove me insane, but after a while, he was well-behaved enough to be placed, and a cute couple from santa barbara adopted him and now he lives on the beach.

    owning a dog is a huge commitment any way you slice it. but i could never pay for one knowing there are so many dogs that are on death row and need homes yesterday.

    a lot of people haven’t put as much thought into it as you have, seakat, nor have they bothered to even try with a rescue dog. and you have two. so you’re golden in my book. if your next dog is a breeder dog, i won’t judge.

    πŸ˜‰

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  15. DM, you’re absolutely right that you rolls the dice and takes your chances with any dog.

    However, temperament is a quality for which you can breed. This makes me hope that knowing a dog’s sire and dam, as well a little bit about its early life would help to lower your odds on getting another nutball.

    To be honest, the only chance that I’ll ever get another dog would be if it was the pet of someone that I knew who, for some reason, couldn’t take care of it any longer.

    Then I’d KNOW what I was getting. Plus, it would kind of be a rescue. Hah! Problem solved. πŸ™‚

    Comment by SeaKat | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  16. seakat, you should get a dog with a really sweet temperament, but that has chicken feet instead of dog feet.

    yes we can.

    πŸ˜€

    CACAW!!!!

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  17. i know chickens don’t cacaw. but they could! if you bred them with parrots!

    CACAW!!!

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  18. Yeah, I’ll agree to a point that it’s a craps shoot at shelters. I mean, they too have thier own stories and thier own issues just like people do. They’ve probably been through a lot by the time they get to the shelter.

    However, I’ve learned that certain breeds are just not for everyone. I think huskies are great but I would NEVER own one. They are so rambunctious. Really the only people who can tolerate them are people who have raised them thier entire life and understand the breed. The same thing goes for Jack Russel terriers. I would never own one of those dogs simply because they are so insanely hyper and would just drive me nuts. I want a big, happy dog that likes to stay indoors.

    I guess I’m trying to say not to totally turn off the idea of adopting another dog, just make sure it’s not something that won’t fit your lifestyle.

    Comment by blah | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  19. First off, can I point out how much I LOVE TS? Seriously, everyone just plays so nice.

    There’s nothing really to add that hasn’t been summed up beautifully, or eloquently told in a longer personal story here. But here I go anyway, of course…. Bred dogs can be better predictors of personality than a shelter (sometimes). But one of the problems is that a lot of people (not all!) who buy pure bred dogs is that they go for a certain look more than on temperament. I can’t count the number of huge ass dogs I’ve seen rolling out of their companion’s apartment. (Seriously dude, you live in a studio, do you think that husky/great dane/pit bull/chow/rottweiler is excited by the view all day?) Also, often times shelters can predict temperament based on the breeds they see present in the dog. It’s not exact, but it’ll give you an idea. And puppies from the shelter won’t be as prone to the behavioral problems that come from an older shelter dog’s history, etc. So…yeah. Now I want a puppy.

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  20. SeaKat: First let me say that as a person who grew up with a Husky I know very well they are *ahem* a handful, and I think it’s really wonderful of you to have kept him and to have kept trying for 12 years, so this isn’t meant as criticism. I am really just confused. You seem to defend breeders and pure breds and say you know what you’re getting, but you said your shelter dog is a Husky, which suggests he’s a purebred and was possibly dumped because he’s a Husky. Is he a mix, or are you saying that possibly if you got him from a breeder you’d know better what his temperament would be? You don’t have to clarify, and it could just be lack of caffeine making me thick this morning. πŸ™‚

    In your and your dog’s defense, Huskies are notoriously some of the most difficult dogs to raise. I think most people really have no idea what they’re getting into, including those if us who think they do, and yours seems to have an extra dose of difficult in him. Ours would hop the fence (a six foot fence) every chance he got. He needed to be doing something all the time and got destructive if he was bored–and was incredibly easily bored. Here here to the burying thing. He once buried a bone in our sofa cushion. They also will roll in another dog’s feces to mask their scent when in the other dog’s territory, which happens more often than you’d think with a fence jumper. Also, with most dogs, you can play with them for an hour and wear them out, but not a Husky. They were bred for stamina and to pull heavy things over great distances for many hours. Your entire family will end up on the floor panting before the dog does. With ours we ended up “sledding” with him, which involved walks in which he pulled one of us on our bike (this has its drawbacks if they don’t listen), and putting him on a treadmill, which he loved. You can also get doggy backpacks to add weight to the adventure. Either way, I’ve found wearing them the fuck out as much as possible helps.

    Regarding ways to preview a dogs personality, knowing the sire and dame aren’t always predictors. Knowing the specific dog is really the only way, and only so much even then. If you do happen to consider a dog again, you can always look at rescue programs where animals are foster homed. The foster “parents” will almost always allow you to visit the dog and see him in his home environment. Additionally, volunteering at the shelter works too. There are several dogs I have had to be sane about because I’d end up with a house full o’ canines, but even so, when I’m done with other duties I always go and hang out with the dogs I like best and give them a little extra lubbins.

    We all have a lot to say on the subject! But that’s a good thing, I think. It means we give a crap. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  21. We’re getting a dog next spring, and my husband and I are having this exact debate at home. I want to check the shelters, he doesn’t want to risk another crazy dog around our kid. We took in a Beagle that was going to the shelter right before I found out I was pregnant, and when the baby came, he just couldn’t handle it. Among other things, he snapped at the baby, and we had to let him go…so now my husband is gun shy about not being able to research the breed traits and the parents and the socialization the puppy has had, etc…I don’t blame him, but I want a rescue dog REALLY bad.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  22. wait…”it’s a craps shoot at shelters”

    has that always been the saying? is that why everyone laughs at me when i say “crap shoot”???

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  23. Thanks you guys, for not jumping down my throat — I know that saying one might not adopt a shelter dog is inviting “dooosh” labelling!! Hell, pre-Guinness, I was a very vocal shelter advocate (and I still am — just with the caveat of “know what you’re getting into!!) and when my s-i-l went to a breeder for her Golden I remember making several snide remarks about what a shame it was. Hubris, thy name is SeaKat…

    Lily, we are assuming that Guinness is purebred Husky. We have no background on him. He was picked up by animal control when he was wandering along Highway 99, north of Seattle.

    Although we had no experience w/Huskies, my husband had dogs all his life and I had a Springer Spaniel as a kid, so we understood what dog ownership means. We also bought a breed book about Huskies before adopting him. Unfortunately, that book was very, hmmm, “optimistic”, might be the kindest word. It left out a LOT of what I have since learned are common Husky traits.

    We chose a Husky, because my husband is a distance runner (13 marathons so far) and wanted a dog that could go for long runs with him. Unfortunately, the one Husky trait that Guinness DOESN’T have is the desire to go on long runs!! He would crap out after a mile or so and would have to be dragged home.

    So, we thought that we did enough homework and had considered all of the ramifications of adopting a Husky. Unfortunately, our research was incomplete and we also got an extra-extra-difficult example of the breed! πŸ™‚

    The point of my original comment was just to say that there are reasons why one might choose to go to a breeder and not automatically be a dickhead! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your thoughtful, kind comments, all. It’s nice to have a forum where we can express even our less admirable thoughts, and have them be thougtfully and respectfully considered! You guys rock!!

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  24. SeaKat: We were the same way. We thought we had done the research and knew the breed. HA! How wrong we were. Granted, when he aged and mellowed, and by this I mean, at about 12-14 he became a very good dog. Obviously all dogs are different, but I think ours decided he needed to leave a positive legacy. πŸ˜‰ OR maybe he was just sneaky enough to decide if he was good the last few years of his life we’d romanticize his memory and get another Husky! That must be it. He was an evil genius.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  25. AdAd, wow can I relate to THAT situation!

    If you don’t mind a word of advice re: breeds?

    If you are considering hunting breeds (Labradors, for example) just be careful while your child is in the crawling/toddling stage. Our Lab is great with the eldest child now, but was very skittish and distressed when the SeaCannibal was younger. She would growl at the baby sometimes or jump up and run away when the baby went near her, sometimes running her down or knocking over an unstable walker.

    When we asked abou it, our vet said that hunting breeds, in particular, have strong prey instincts and that the erratic movements of say, a crawling baby, can activate that prey drive. Basically, the lab knew that our baby was part of the pack, but was also experiencing prods from her prey drive. She dealt with that disconnect by running away, luckily.

    The vet said that this issue would go away once the baby was larger and old enough to move smoothly…and it did.

    It was really only a year that we had to deal with this issue, and the other fantastic traits of labs more than outweigh this problem. TMIMO. But it’s one more bit of info to weigh, when making the choice of what dog is a good match for your family. (Also- Huskies? FANTASTIC with kids. It **almost** makes up for his other issues…almost!)

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  26. We – okay, IIII – brought home a Husky one night before we were going out. He was wandering the streets, and though I’ve never had one, I think they are beautiful and they have a special affinity in my heart. Anyway, I’m a stray-bringer-homer, and since we were about to leave we put him in the backyard with some food…he jumped the fence before we were down the block. Twice. Not knowing much about the dog, we didnt’ want to leave him inside the house and we figured he just didnt want to be there (I now know better)…so we let him go. Shoulda kept him…he was SO sweet.

    Anyway, had we known I was pregnant or thought we were going to have kids ever (we weren’t planning on any), we probably would have researched the Beagle a little more…but for just the two of us he was fine. Unfortunately, his instinct wasn’t to run away, and on top of that he was very jealous (he was kind of young). We miss him terribly, and sometimes we wonder if we made the right choice…then I remember the terror he was to the baby and think we probably did. He went to a good home, with no kids.

    So, now we want to try again. If one of you wants to train the dog and teach it to clean up its own poop – we’d take it now. πŸ™‚

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  27. Many blessings upon you and every other person who brings strays home. It is pretty much the only way that we ever got Guinness back when he ran away…usually someone would notice a worn out dog wandering and would nab him and call the number on his collar.

    You might want to count your blessings that you didn’t keep the Husky. Ours killed a cat in the neighborhood (they are notorious for killing small animals). Since Seattle Animal Control has a ‘one strike’ policy for dogs that attack other domestic animals, keeping Guinness contained is literally a life-or-death problem. Not to mention how guilty we feel about it!!

    I’m sorry to hear about the beagle. Yes, if he was snapping at your baby, it’s just not worth the risk. They’re only reacting the way that they would to another dog but babies don’t have the protection of a thick coat of fur!

    I’m actually really glad that we all had this discussion. I’m starting to soften on my “no other dog, ever” feeling. I think maybe I’d adopt a fostered dog — because then I’d have the benefit of knowing more about what I was getting along with the knowledge that I helped a homeless dog.

    ThunderSquee: Changing minds, saving dogs…

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  28. SeaKat: The way I see it, it would almost be a shame if you never adopted or enjoyed another dog because of your Husky. Very few people will go to the lengths you have to keep your dog and bring him and you some peace. Had he not been blessed enough for you guys to have decided to be his people, it’s very likely he would have ended up being destroyed. Less dedicated people would have sent him back to the shelter or A shelter without bothering to check its euthanasia policy, and given he doesn’t seem like a dog that just needs the right home (i.e., one without kids or other pets, etc.), he may not have had a chance. TMIMO, the world needs more dog owners like you. πŸ™‚

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  29. Agreed!

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  30. I don’t know if you guys know about this link, but I thought I would post it just in case. I have it favorited, so that I remember to click it every day – it’s free, and a great way to help out!

    http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com/clickToGive/home.faces?siteId=3

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  31. Awwww, thanks guys. Warm fuzzies. But not, like, “guys in giant skunk costumes”. The other kind. πŸ™‚

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  32. Our family got our purebred chocolate lab retriever from a breeder with all the legit paperwork and in order for us to buy the dog from the breeder, we had to also register him with the CKC (Canadian Kennel Club) and agree not to use him for the purpose of breeding, so as to not to I guess dilute or mess with the bloodlines of this breed.

    Anyways, we visited the breeder and her dogs prior to getting our Chopper to make sure the dogs were healthy, happy and treated well.

    Even with all the paperwork and inspection we did, he turned out to be a super hyper dog with separation anxiety issues. I will not go through the list of the damage he did to my parents’ house. Although not as severe as SeaKat’s dog, he still damaged doors, windows, a pair of my shoes, and etc.

    Everyone said, he would grow out of it, but he didn’t. And we tried the crating and other techniques, but they didn’t work. He did mellow a bit, but still had separation anxiety. One time I had to babysit him for 2 weeks while my parents and my brother and his wife were out of town and the dog’s anxiety issues went through the roof. I could not leave him alone or he would destroy my place and bark non-stop. Luckily I could take him to work with me and I would go to my parents’ house on the weekend, because he would be more relaxed and I could leave him home alone while I ran errands.

    He passed away over a year ago from old age, which reminds me, because of his breed and size, he developed bad hips. Also, his breed develops chronic ear infections and skin allergies especially if they live in a climate that isn’t dry.

    If I ever get another dog, I would definitely go with a shelter dog that is a mixed breed as I feel they have better temperments and fewer health problems that are associated with inbreeding and purebreds.

    But at the moment, my cat is enough work for me.

    Comment by rumour has it | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  33. Holy crap. So much for my “better luck w/a dog whose history you know” theory!

    Actually, more of a “hypothesis” than a “theory.”

    This is why I am a writer and not a scientist, my friends. I make up hypothesies (sp?) and call them theories w/little to no testing! My 7th grade science teacher is curled up in the fetal position, gently weeping right now and he doesn’t know why.

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  34. I have to say that I have a shelter dog but I got him as a puppy so any bad behavior (and believe me there is alot) is mostly my fault. That being said my parents bought a golden retriever from a breeder and while he does have an awesome temperment he has horrible health issues. The dog constantly gets ear infections, skin rashes and has bad hips at 5. The money my parents have spent on the dog make me never want to buy a dog from a breeder ever.

    Comment by silent noodles | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  35. Is it weird that I now really want a dog with a llama face?

    Comment by Sarah | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  36. SeaKat: Marry me? I love a woman who knows the difference between a hypothesis and a theory.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  37. LOL@ Lily. OK, but we’re getting “No Huskies” written into the pre-nup!

    Where do you want to have the ceremony? Iowa? Vermont? Or should we wait for NY and have Liza sing at the reception? πŸ˜‰

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  38. Liza!

    She’s no Zac Efron.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  39. SeaKat: Iowa…it’s in the heartland. That was so bad it pained me to type it. But sometimes you just can’t look back.

    Comment by Lily the Pink | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  40. Sarah! Don’t forget the chicken feet! CACAW!!!

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  41. in all seriousness, this is why i love TS! intelligent discussions.

    too bad you’re all fat losers with no jobs.

    πŸ™‚

    (where’s matt when you need him???)

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  42. Still in his mommy’s basement, watching gay porn.

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  43. NOT that there’s anything wrong with that. He just always seemed like one of those “I think he doth protest too much” types.

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  44. Grayhounds, I have to say are probably the greatest dogs ever. They are friendly, affectionate, require minimal grooming, don’t have the typical hip and other medical problems that large breeds have (because of thier odd body frame), they don’t shed very much, and they are described as “the worlds fastest couch potato”. They are perfect for apartment living because they don’t require a lot of room. They like to just lay around for the most part, they just need a good walk or run daily. They have insanely fast metabolisms so they don’t really gain weight. I’ve never seen a fat grayhound in my life. Granted, they aren’t as fluffy as a lab, but they are totally chill dogs and great with kids.

    Comment by blah | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  45. Can I bring up the Dog Whisperer or will I get shot?

    We had a purebred lab; she was the runt of the litter and as a child I had to constantly beg to keep her after the damage she did.

    And now I wonder if we didn’t just really do a bad job trying to train her properly.

    That being said, breeds to have traits that should be paid attention to, and purebreds are prone to extra health issues (Lucy eventually became diabetic and then blind…but did surprisingly well for all that) but you never quite know what you get with a mutt.

    But I’m a human mutt and I have a soft spot for them anyway. πŸ˜›

    I want a dog. Stupid apartment living…

    Comment by TheHobo | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  46. SEE-SAR! TE TOG WHEESOPOROR!

    I love the dog whisperer!!

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 15, 2009 | Reply

  47. I’ve heard that about Greyhounds too, blah.

    I’ve been told that they have 2 speeds: fast as hell and laying around, licking their crotches. Which means that they’re SMART too.

    Comment by SeaKat | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

