uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Afternoon Awesome

A television station in Belgium did some wacky promotion for its upcoming reality television show Op Zoek Naar Maria (“The Search for Maria”).  The show is based on a BBC show How Do You Solve a Problem Like Maria, a popular talent show back in 2006 which was searching for someone to play the lead role Maria Von Trapp in the 2006 Andrew Lloyd Webber and David Ian stage production of The Sound of Music.

The Belgian television station recruited 200 dancers from the Royal Ballet of Flanders to perform a rehearsed routine on a busy Monday morning in a train station in Antwerp.

For those of you who fell asleep after you read the word “Belgium,” just imagine if you were in Grand Central Station in New York City during morning rush hour and you witnessed this awesomeness:

April 13, 2009 - Posted by | Afternoon Awesome | , ,

11 Comments »

  1. Wow, that’s taking theatre-geekdom to a whole new level!!

    I can imagine that I’d be annoyed for the first minute (Who ARE these people and why are they slowing me DOWN!!!) and then totally thrilled once I got over myself and my busy, important life. (said completely tongue-in-cheek)

    Comment by SeaKat | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. I hope Julie Andrews knows about this

    Comment by blah | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. I hate it when I’m late for a very important meeting. And then I miss my bus due to high kicks and kick ball changes.

    And by important meeting I mean I hate missing 2 dollar beers and half price appetizers. Do not make me miss happy hour unless you want a heel in the eyehole.

    Comment by cookiebees | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  4. So…you’re late, you’re late– for a very important date? No time to say hello, goodbye, you’re late you’re late you’re late?

    Does anyone else remember Alice In Wonderland?

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  5. If I was one of the commuters, I’d just be very relieved to eventually realize that this was not some kind of jazzercize intervention.

    I hate those impromtu exersize interventions.

    It’s bad enough when the gym sends out those “we miss seeing you around here” postcards.

    Comment by queencrone | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. Seriously, nobody wants to be mocked by a dance troupe wearing jazz shoes on the way to work. It’s enough to make you want to grab the valium

    Comment by cookiebees | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  7. Plus, after all that jazzercising exertion, you’d have to go back home and take another shower and a nap.

    And grab a beer.

    Comment by queencrone | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  8. That almost made me cry-diddly-eye.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  9. Funny, I saw this video on FB about a week ago, but from a completely different vantage point. There’s another similar one that is a commercial, for a cell phone network, I think.

    Comment by WhoMee | April 13, 2009 | Reply

  10. Well, at least I would have video proof as to why I was late…again.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. this is awesome!

    Comment by rumour has it | April 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

