uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Video Thunderdome!

Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner Edition

ts-ballet

This week, it’s all about the dancing. First up is a song that comes from one of the biggest movies in the 1980s, Dirty Dancing.  Johnny Castle and Frances ‘Baby’ Houseman were the Romeo and Juliet for the 80s generation, but without that pesky suicide ending. Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey shared an amazing on-screen chemistry despite the fact that they couldn’t stand each in real life. I’m talking hate with a capital 8 dislike of each other. I think that’s the real reason there was never a Dirty Dancing sequel starring the two of them. Despite the off-screen problems, the film did wonders for Patrick Swayze’s career. It launched him as a household name and scored him a top ten hit song with “She’s Like the Wind.”

 

 

Next up we have a song from Flashdance, Irene’ Cara’s “What a Feeling.” I can say with absolute certainty that this is the movie where my love for Jennifer Beals and dancers in general came from. Jennifer Beals didn’t do the actual dancing in this movie; it was a French actress named Marine Jahan that handled all the real dancing scenes. They only used Jennifer for the close-ups and some of the easier dancing scenes. This caused a huge controversy when it came out that it wasn’t her doing the dancing. Personally I never saw what the big deal was; it wasn’t the first time Hollywood used a body double for a star. What I did think was kind of crappy was that they didn’t list Marine Jahan in the films credits at first.

Click here to see a great clip form 1994 of Patrick Swayze and his wife Lisa Nieme dancing together at the World Music Awards. Swayze displays his formal dance training from the Harkness Ballet and Joffrey ballet schools he attended when he was young. They say you can tell a lot about how a person will be in bed by how they dance. If that’s the case I bet these two have worn out some beds in their time.

Bon Jovi destroyed Poison last week in the hair spray rock division. Hopefully the Earth’s ozone layer will forgive them.

Don’t forget to vote on this weeks contenders. Check back next week for a very special Video Thunderdome!

(UPDATE: The video for “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” has been replaced with “She’s Like the Wind.”  You know you wanted it.)

[poll id=”24″]

April 10, 2009 - Posted by | Video Thunderdome! | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. HAHAHAH! At first I looked at that photo and thought, “Why are there nasty turds on the floor?”

    Comment by Chronically Constipated | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. She’s Like The Wind is so bad it’s good. So is Dirty Dancing.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. She’s Like The Wind is execrable. I only wish I thought that Swayze was doing it ironically!! 🙂

    I NEVER knew that Grey and Swayze hated each other!! Backstory, puhleeze??? Is it on Wikipedia or somewhere else that I can learn this tantalizing bit of ancient gossip?? 🙂

    Comment by SeaKat | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. Okay, I’m seriously torn here. You do not understand my complete and total love of all things Dirty Dancing. On the other hand, I also feel like “What a Feeling” is actually a better song.

    When it comes to pure, dance around your enthusiasm, I’d rather pretend I’m the dancer who danced for Jennifer Beals than sing the sad goodbye song of Dirty Dancing.

    Ug! Loyalty or reality?

    Reality wins 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. *dance around your living room enthusiasm. Wearing gloves while typing makes me forget to type words. True story. Sidenote: it’s frigging freezing in my office!

    Comment by TheHobo | April 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. oh wait! I was looking at the videos! “She’s like the Wind” totally beats out “What a Feeling!” However, “I’ve Had the Time of My Life” does not.

    Okay, now that I’ve got that settled…

    Comment by TheHobo | April 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

