uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Video Thunderdome!

Pretty Boys of 80s Rock

ts-aquanetFor a time in the 1980s, both of this week’s challengers tried to lay claim to the term “Metal.” At best, Bon Jovi and Poison were elevator music metal. They made hard(ish) rock music and served it up in a cloud of Aqua Net and caked-on Maybelline. 1980s rock bands did more than their share of damage to the environment.  Poison’s tour in 1988 for Open Up and Say… Ahh! is probably the reason for at least two or three holes in the ozone layer.

Poison had a lock on the Glam Metal title in the late 80s. They probably went through more hair spray and makeup in a week than most bands did in a month and back then, that was really saying something.


 

Bon Jovi was always kind of the “nice guys” of rock. They didn’t have the talent of Van Halen or the hard rocking lifestyle of Motley Crew. Bon Jovi always seem to be the designated driver at the rocker party. If you just OD’d for the second time that night with Nikki Sixx and you needed someone to drive you to the hospital so you could get your blood replaced, you called Bon Jovi or Stryper.  I’m sure they did some hell raising of their own but they managed to keep it pretty well hidden.

 

Last week’s Video Thunderdome! was a blowout. Falco beat Frankie Goes to Hollywood like a red headed stepchild. Luckily Frankie’s Zen like out look on life will help him overcome the loss.

We have a winner in the movie soundtrack Thunderdome. Peter Gabriel with “In Your Eyes”  beat Simple Minds’ “Don’t You Forget About Me.” Lloyd Dobler would be proud.

Cast your vote for this week’s challengers. As always, let me know who you think needs to enter the Video Thunderdome!

[poll id=”22″]

April 3, 2009 - Posted by | Video Thunderdome! | , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I used to think Bon Jovi was just a tribute band, named after Jon Bon Jovi. Same thing with Val Halen, although I’m still not entirely sure I was wrong about it. Anyone?

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. OMG…I had the biggest crush on Bon Jovi the entire time I was growing up. I had this life size poster on my wall and I would kiss it goodnight every night. I was 9, give me a break.

    Still love him, to this day. Just not in a “kiss a poster” kind of way.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. I know I’ve told this story before but I still can’t get over the pure klassiness of it all:

    My class mates chose as their prom theme: Slippery When Wet.

    Nice.

    Comment by SeaKat | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  4. Your classmates rule.

    As does Bon Jovi.

    By the way, my coworker’s name is Jovi. No Bon, just Jovi. And she’s cool too. 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. As a purist it bothers me that this is labelled an 80’s Metal thunderdome, when it is clearly more of an 80’s Cherry Rock/Hair band thunderdome.

    Because if it was an 80’s Metal thunderdome, both these bands would have been bludgeoned to death with tyre irons by Slayer and Venom.

    Just sayin’…

    Comment by BunchOfFives | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  6. (Not that I didn’t see Bon Jovi in 1987 with my poodle hair on!)

    Comment by BunchOfFives | April 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

