uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sorry Wrong Number

I said wrong number!

frustrated1I understand that wrong numbers happen, but it happened frequently where I used to work because we owned a large block of phone numbers. For our particular exchange, we owned all of the 5000 range, so it could be more than a little annoying. However, it would get down right confusing and aggravating when people were seemingly unable to come to grips with the fact that they, in fact, misdialed.

I rarely gave out the direct-dial number for my desk, so whenever I saw an external call coming in I immediately became annoyed, but occasionally the calls were worth the interruption for their amusement factor.  One of the most amusing went something like this:

<her> Is Bob there?
<me> I’m sorry, there’s no one here by that name.
<her> Well, this is _____ (some name I can’t remember)?
<me> OK, Name-I-Can’t-Remember,  you have the wrong number.
<her> This is the number they gave me!
<me> What number did you dial?
<her> blah blah blah (the wrong number)
<me> This is not that number.
<her> But it’s the number they gave me!
<me> I am sure it IS, but it isn’t THIS number. You’ve dialed the wrong number.
<her> How do I get the right number, then?
<me> Uh…you dial it again, but correctly…

I hung up and just shook my head. On a similar note, I had a wrong number once where the guy was trying to call a place I actually used to work. I told him he had the wrong number, and he said “Is this not where I need to call to get an RFP from (company name)? It says here I need to contact Ryan Cathy.”  I told him, “There is no Ryan Cathy here and this is not (company name), you have the wrong number.”  He said “Ok, then who do I call?” seemingly oblivious to the fact that if he had not reached the number he thought he had dialed, I wouldn’t be able to answer this question.  Or possibly he thought I was magic, either way. In the mean time, the company name he mentioned and the name he asked for clicked in my brain and I realized who he was trying to contact. He had transposed the name. (Surely womminz don’t know nothin’ about fiber optics!)  So, I said “You need to contact Cathy Ryan.” then gave him her number.

I’m hoping that later that day he thought about this and decided I really AM magic.  I’m also hoping that he has since learned to use a damned phone.

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Daily Whims | , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Oh, they never do.

    I’m not sure if it was here or elsewhere that I told the tale of me against the Dumb-Ass-Collection-Agency that had my number as someone they were trying to collect from, but that is still an epic battle story I will be telling for years to come. I finally won by the way. But man, it took a lot…

    Comment by TheHobo | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. I particularly like it when they become agitated, or they have different people call you back, or when they read you the number they have and you tell them that’s not the number they called, but they insist that it is.

    Comment by Captain Lou Albino | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hobo, I swear, in one week I will have no less than 15 calls from collection agencies looking for about 6 different people. And they NEVER believe you when you say they don’t live there. I think it’s because my husbands full name isn’t listed in the phone book…I’ve been debating changing that.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. When the collection agencies call and ask for me, I tell them they have the wrong number, and I am not there.

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Actually, sometimes when a certain sister of mine calls for me, I tell her that she has the wrong number, and I am not there. I don’t care if she says she recognizes my voice. I insist that she dialed wrong.

    There are days when I have not had enough beer yet to deal with her drama.

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. QC You have what they call brass stones, or something like that. That’s fantastic, I want to do that to my family, for real.

    My favorite collections call trick is that whenever someone calls asking for my brother, he has put down the business phone number that also comes in to our house. I simply say that he is never here, and they never ever want to leave a message with me. So I say that if they have personal business to address with him, to please call him on his home number. No, I’m sorry, I can’t give that out.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Ha! That is smart of you and your brother baby fish mouth!

    🙂

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hahahaha!

    I just don’t answer when collection agencies call for me (honestly, I was sitting there for a few days going “but I paid everything! Didn’t I?”) before I figured out they were calling for someone else.

    I hate paying bills. Maybe I should take the Sugar Daddie sites more seriously…

    Comment by TheHobo | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. OOH what sugar daddie sites…

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  10. I get about 7 calls a day from people calling about stiff stools, heart problems and runny noises. Some jackass doctor’s paitents seem to think we are his office. They get very upset when I tell them I work in the plumbing industry and the only way I can help with their stiff stools is by having somebody go dislodge them from their clogged toilet.

    Comment by Deimos | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  11. Where I work, we get TONS of collection calls for an ex-employee. He got fired, but they don’t care. He’s moving back to Pakistan to dodge his creditors, but they don’t care about that either. But if any are listening here, Yassar doesn’t work here anymore!

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  12. My grandpa’s brother (I guess that’s, what, my great uncle or something, anyway) people mistake his number for the pizza delivery place ALL THE TIME. And he’ll take their order. Every. Time. I imagine there are a lot of hungry people in his down…

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  13. down = town. uh, yeah.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  14. Sugar Daddie sites are dating sites for young hot women to find old rich men to date.

    Yes, they exist.

    But it still feels like prostitution. Also, I don’t think I’m hot enough for that kind of money. 😛

    Comment by TheHobo | April 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

