uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mondegreen of the Week

Don’t Let the Sun Go Down On Me, Elton John

I can’t light no more of your darkness
All my pictures seem to fade to black and white
I’m growing tired and time stands still before me

Frozen here on the ladder of my life
Too late to save myself from falling
I took a chance and changed your way of life

But you misread my meaning when I met you
Closed the door and left me blinded by the light

Don’t let your son the sun go down on me
Although I search myself, it’s always someone else I see
I’d just allow a fragment of your life to wander free
But losing everything is like your son the sun going down on me

See the complete lyrics







April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Mondegreen of the Week | , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Thank you STM! I am enjoying listening and watching the Sir with a beer. Getting goosebumps!

    (…Watch his shoulders and face. This is the way I do karaoke! )

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. When I do karaoke, I have a better wig and costume though.

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. HAHAHAHAHA

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. When I was a teenager I almost admitted (to the other teenagers in the car) that “When I Think About You I Touch Myself” wasn’t the first song openly about masturbation. After all Tina Turner had been singing “What’s Love Got to Do With It…What’s love but a second hand in motion” for years.

    I stayed quiet. As I was listening to my peers I kinda got a suspicion that maybe I had the lyric wrong.

    Comment by The Random Reverend | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. @random reverend:

    hahahahaha.

    that’s one i’ve never heard before.

    Comment by DonnaMartin | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. RandomRev, that is hilarious!!

    That makes total sense, too. ::snerk::

    Wasn’t there some hullaballo about Cyndi Lauper doing a song about masturbation? “I bop. She bops. ” Something like that?

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. RandomRev, methinks that if you had spoken up, you would have sentenced your second hand to being in motion for the rest of your high school years.

    Comment by WhoMee | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. hahahahaaa, WhoMeee. Good one!

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. “She Bop” was openly about masturbation.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/She_Bop

    And then it was one of the “Filthy Fifteen.” Oh, parents!

    Love me some Cyndi Lauper. 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | April 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

