uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Food For Thought

ts-money-2

Million Dollar Question Edition

I love hypothetical questions. There’s nothing better than hearing what people would do if they were put in certain situations or given certain opportunities. I find these kind of questions always lead to the most entertaining and enlightening conversations. With that being said I now ask you:

If you were given 1 million dollars but had to give half to only one person, who would you give it to and why would you choose that person?

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | What Do You Think? | , ,

26 Comments »

  1. Would it be wrong of me to say I’d give it to my fiancee so I wouldn’t REALLY have to share it?

    Comment by Chelsea - PETA Protector | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’d give it to my mama. She’s had it rough the past couple years…got laid off, divorced, sold her house for much less than she should have, moved down to Louisiana to be with her mom since she couldn’t find work here, finally found a job with an oil company, bought a small house down there, but got laid off again when gas prices plummeted. Now she’s got a part-time job teaching computer programming at a college, but it’s not enough…she’s still looking for something else. My brother moved down there to live with her so they could help each other out, but he doesn’t make much at his job either.

    Comment by Skaði | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Chelsea, I clicked on here to say I’d give it to my husband because what is his is mine. 🙂 Then you can start sharing with others if you want to…haha!

    I don’t care if it’s selfish. I’ll share, just on my own terms.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’d give it to The Dalai Lama. No, I’d give it to Bono. NO, I’d give it to Angelina Jolie.

    BAHAHAHAHAH

    Seriously. My accountant?

    HAHAHA I have no idea what I’d do. The pressure to come up with a cool answer is too much.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  5. Oh I just saw HALF. My dad then. For everything that man has done for my family, it’s the least I can do.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  6. I know what you mean, bfm. My mom actually lent me $600 at one point during all of this, when she took some of her retirement money out to survive. I was so happy I was able to pay her back with my tax refund.

    Comment by Skaði | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  7. Yup, I think I’d say my mom. She and my Dad have always struggled, financially, and yet they managed to help their 3 kids through college (with lots of help from grants, scholarships and plain old student loans!)

    Both of my parents are older than my peers’ parents; they lived through the Depression (the last one…) and were really shaped by it. I don’t think either has ever truly felt financially secure and I would love to be able to give them the gift of finally being able to not worry.

    Also, I know that they would share with my entire extended family, so it would really be like giving it to a whole bunch of people who could use a little help right now.

    Geez, the more I think about it, I feel like it’s my duty to go buy a lottery ticket!! 😛

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. Good point, SeaKat. I know my mom would be generous with her half.

    Comment by Skaði | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  9. I’m pretty sure that if I was given a million dollars, the US gov would end up with half of it. Taxes suck! 😛

    But I’d give half of whatever was left to my mom, to pay her back for all the ways she’s supported me.

    And then I would budget out 50,000 a year to live off of, quit my job (though possibly not tutoring) and work on writing another novel. Maybe even self publish…

    Nice little day dream 🙂

    Comment by TheHobo | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  10. OK I got it: I would tip a waitress with mine. Then I would make a movie about it and get richer.

    Without trying to sound hoity toity, it is kind of funny to see that all of us (including me) would want to give the money away, in a way where it came back to us somehow.

    Is there anything we’d consider giving the money away for, where it didn’t potentially directly benefit our lives?

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  11. Yes, bfm…this new cancer program here that could have saved my aunt’s life had funding been available in time.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  12. AdAd–*hugs*

    Comment by TheHobo | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  13. Aww AdAd!

    ::hugs too::

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  14. Hm… Yeah, I thought about it and no, I wouldn’t give it away to anyone/thing that wouldn’t benefit myself. A half million is like a lifetime’s worth of pacemaker battery changes for me. I would give some away to like, the Humane Society, but not all or half.

    Comment by Mae | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  15. thanks guys… 🙂 (It really is a promising treatment – my uncle is still head of the fundraising for it. They donated a ton of money and my aunt would tell everyone it didn’t matter if she got the treatment, she knew it would help someone else. She was one of those truely remarkable people – as a matter of fact, SHE’D probably give all the money to something else.)

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  16. You know, I’m not sure that I was so much motivated to have the money come back to me, but more that I would want to give the money to people that I know have worked hard, tried their best and who deserve a break. For an amount of $$ as great (in my life anyways) as a half-million, I’m just not trusting enough about how a charity or group in which I’m not involved would spend it.

    I would certainly consider parcelling it out anonymously to people (like a single mom friend of mine w/zero support from her family or the kid’s biological father) who I know could use it and would put it to good use.

    Does that make sense? It’s not that I would need to know that I’d inherit the money back or anything…It’s just that I’d want to be certain that it would make a difference. And maybe to have the opportunity to emjoy seeing those lives change for the better/easier (hopefully!)

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  17. And AdAd, I’d certainly consider donating $ to a foundation like the one you’ve mentioned — because that would fit the criteria of being certain that it would make a difference!

    I’m sorry to hear about your aunt. She sounds like she was a remarkable woman. ::hugs::

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  18. I wasn’t trying to accuse us of selfishness, really – I’m sorry if it sounded that way! :-/

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  19. bfm — I didn’t take it that way at all!! I was just explaining my thought process! No worries !! 🙂

    Comment by SeaKat | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  20. whew! 🙂

    Comment by baby fish mouth | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  21. Took a while to find this link…a non profit we work with linked to a story about this guy who started this organizations:
    http://wishuponahero.com/

    People list things they wish for, like non profits that need supplies or whatever, and other people pick who they want to help, and then directly help that person. Sometimes several people work together to help one person/group. It’s sort of a direct way of helping people out.

    AdAd–is there a link for the fundraising effort your uncle is making?

    Comment by TheHobo | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  22. If I got a million dollars and had to give away half…mmm..

    I would just about have to give away half for the tax deductions, right, if I gave it to a tax deductably approved organization?

    Speaking of taxes, uncle Sam would take his cut of that initial million out of my remaining half a million.

    That would leave me just about…….

    right back where I started.

    Comment by queencrone | April 2, 2009 | Reply

  23. TheHobo, the website has been taken down for the time being, because they couldn’t raise enough money to begin the Phase 1 trials like they had anticipated. The project has gone back into a “research” status pending some possible government funding.

    Basically, my Uncle headed up (started, really) the fundraising committee thinking they could raise the money needed fairly quickly (the goal was, initially, in time for my aunt to try it) through private funding, because they were having trouble getting government funding in any timely fashion (surprise, surprise). It was harder than everyone thought to get the money, and the trials couldn’t proceed. They have now decided that it would probably be too hard to raise the money through private funding, and are petitioning the government again.

    The crappy thing is, the drug is ready to use, it’s just that the machinery to produce enough for trials is SO expensive. If I remember correctly, they needed something like $1.3 million for the first phase, and $2.5 million for the whole project. (It’s hard to swallow watching the government drop trillions of dollars to save crooked companies, and know that 1% of that could save millions of lives.)

    I’m trying to get my hands on the information flyer. I had one, but the information is incorrect now, since they have had to change how to go about doing the project. I talked to my uncle, and he said he would email me information as it became available. Donations are still being accepted, just the active website is not up.

    I’m looking for the archive of the article that ran in a paper here. If you know anyone interested in donating, here is the address:

    Sanjay Awasthi Cancer Research Fund
    UNT Health Science Center Foundation
    3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard, EAD 802
    Fort Worth, Texas 76107-2699

    I’ll find some more information, for nothing else than to validate the project. 🙂 And thanks for asking you guys…really. If nothing else, I’d love to at least get awareness out there that a program exists that could really really help.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  24. wow…that was a really long post. sorry! 🙂

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  25. Okay! I found an article run in the paper here. I can’t link you to it, because it’s an archive and they will try to charge you for it.

    However, I’m a student and have access to that stuff for free…so to avoid another long post here and freaking out word press, I’ve posted the article on my blog (that is usually funny stories about my son). If you’re interested in reading it, just click the link in my name and it will take you there.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | April 3, 2009 | Reply

  26. Everyone says thier parent, and so do I. However, aside from the obvious parent donation, I’d probably give it to the animal shelter I volunteer at. They really need a whole new wing to provide more room for all the dogs and cats that are coming in. Since the economy went to shit, a lot of dogs are being turned it and it’s so sad. We are one of the truly no-kill animal shelters out there so I’d probably try and help them out with the facilities bigger and also provide more room for the dogs like maybe a nice big walking trail on the premise.

    Comment by blah | April 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

