uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Meet Tsutomu Yamaguchi

ts-tsutomu-yamaguchi-japanes-001Tsutomu Yamaguchi is 93 years old and happens to be the first and only known survivor of BOTH the attacks on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in Japan, and yesterday, he was officially recognized as such by Japanese authorities.

That has to makes him either the luckiest person to walk the earth because he survived, or the unluckiest for having the misfortune of being in both cities at the time of the attacks. I’m really not sure which it is; it could go either way.

On August 6th 1945, Tsutomu was in Hiroshima, preparing to return home from a business trip when the Enola Gay dropped the atomic bomb code-named “Little Boy” on the city. Three days later, he was back home in Nagasaki on August 9th when the second atomic bomb code-named “Fat Man” was dropped.

Take a moment to look at these two photographs:

ts-hiroshima

This photo was taken one hour after the bomb was dropped on Hiroshima.


ts-nagasaki

This is a photo of Nagasaki after the bomb was dropped.

Now think about this. Somewhere on the ground in both of those photos was Tsutomu Yamaguchi.

Tsutomu remains in relatively good health apart from near-deafness in one ear and complaints that his legs are “growing weak.”

image source: wireimage.com

March 25, 2009 - Posted by | Daily Whims | , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Wow, amazing.

    Comment by WhoMee | March 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. I need to go back and study my history because I never realized that the attacks were three days apart. I always thought both bombs were dropped on the same run. I guess that makes me dum. 🙂

    Comment by Helen Skor | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Yeah, three days apart – when Japan refused to surrender after the August 6 Enola Gay run on Hiroshima, they dropped the “Little Boy” on the military complex/city of Nagasaki on August 9.

    <–dorky history major 🙂

    Comment by Cait | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  4. He’s the WWII version of DJ AM.

    Comment by SeaKat | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  5. Ok, now I feel bad for being flip. That must have been an unimaginably horrible experience to go through once, much less twice.

    Mea Culpa, Yamaguchi-san.

    (Yes, Latin and Japanese…I’m a renaissance apologizer.)

    Comment by SeaKat | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  6. SeaKat: now apologize like Snoop Dogg!

    Comment by TheHobo | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  7. I was not personally offended, SeaKat, if that helps.

    But then, I tend to file the atom bombs under “It’s too much to think about, so let’s make jokes.”

    Comment by baby fish mouth | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hobo:

    I made me a joke about the at. tom. bomb.
    I thought I was funny, but it was wrong.

    My mama taught me bettah ’bout how to do…
    I am real sor-rizzle, and dat is true.

    Comment by SeaKat | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  9. Squeeeeeeee!!!! hee hee hahahahahaha!!!

    <3!!

    Comment by TheHobo | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  10. SeaKat, I love you.

    Comment by WhoMee | March 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

