uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

When I Grow Up

Movies from My Youth

ts-xanaduSaturday night a double feature of my favorite two movies from my youth were on. It was like a sign from the movie Gods.  Grease 2 and Xanadu were on back to back. That was a sign if there ever was one. It reminded me of a conversation I once had with myself. I have a bad habit of pondering useless things.

Some movies are like time capsules.  They remind you of a period in time  that can either make you smile or cringe.

Grease 2 is one that makes you smile. It makes you want to break out some hot pants and perm your hair. Luckily, I’ve stayed far away from the Ogilvie home perm kits. Why do they still make those?  I digress.

Xanadu on the other hand? Cringe.

I remember when I first watched it, I wanted to grow up one day and have a Xanadu wedding complete with flowy peasant dresses and roller skates. I wanted to find my own man who looked like the love child of Andy Gibb and Rex Smith. But it was not to be. Instead I married a man who looks like the love child of Jim Carrey and Christian Bale. I’m lucky like that. On the Christian Bale part, anyway.

On the night before my nuptials, some girlfriends and I watched some old movies, and we watched Xanadu as part of our marathon. Somewhere in the middle, I wanted to poke my eyes out.  And it was sad because I love me some ONJ (Olivia Newton John, for those not in the know).  The music was certainly awesome, but the movie itself was a form of torture.  How could I have been fooled so badly?

On the other hand, Grease 2–that awesomely bad movie– has only gotten more awesome with time. And you know that Michelle Pfeiffer is not putting that bit of cinematic greatness on her resume.  She needs to replace Dangerous Liaisons with the awesomeness that is Grease 2. You know you can’t not sing along when someone busts out with, “If you really want to know, what I want in a guy.”  I mean, where else can you find a song about bowling and doing it for our country?  Nowhere!

Another disappointment was 9 1/2 Weeks.  When I was young, we’d watch that movie and wish we could find our very own sadomasochist boyfriend.  How could that be wrong?  Sure we were only 14 years old, but that looked like good clean fun.  I watched 9 1/2 Weeks just last night and like with Xanadu, I was highly disappointed. It was beautiful to watch, but it was choppy and depressing.  It started out sexy but by the end, the characters had spun so far out of control that they had become slaves to their desires. And the last scene where she leaves him and he can only admit he loves her after she leaves is just sad.  Being unable to emotionally connect to any other human being on any other level besides sexual is not sexy.  It’s why people go to therapy and end up on Dr. Phil.

Luckily, there are movies that still stand the test of time like E.T.:the Extra Terrestrial and Terms of Endearment.

And now I ask you, what movie did you love growing up only to have your bubble burst when you watched it as an adult?  Discuss.

March 24, 2009 - Posted by | Juju Bitches, Movie Marquis, What Do You Think? | , , , ,

23 Comments »

  1. OOH! Maxwell Caulfield – is that his name? He ended up marrying Hayley Mills? Anyway the guy from Grease 2 – sex on two sticks, oh yes. I would nominate him for a Bale actually.

    Juju it’s great to see you writing for this blog -very nice article!

    Comment by baby fish mouth | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Holy Juju!!

    Comment by Chronically Constipated | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow . . . 9 1/2 weeks at 14? My mother never would have allowed that! But the thing I like about the movie is that it is such an amazing character study. Shy, reserved woman searches for herself by becoming a puppet for this other person, and escapes his grasp when she realizes that she no longer recognizes the person in the mirror. On a smaller scale, I think most of us have been through that, which explains the appeal of the movie. Oh, yeah, and Mickey Rourke back when he was still hot and mysterious.

    I actually just bought the complete series of Miami Vice on DVD – it was one of my favorite shows from childhood. But, as I’ve made my way through all five seasons, I have realized how incredibly misogynistic it is. But there are a crap ton of celebrities who were on different episodes: Julia Roberts, Viggo Mortensen, Kyra Sedgewick, James Brown, Chris Cooper, Phil Collins, Sheena Easton, Benicio del Toro, Ving Rhames, Jimmy Smits, Bruce Willis . . . the list goes on! Okay, sorry – I just totally geeked out. Apologies.

    Comment by Helen Skor | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. LOL, I know what you mean. I used to watch Dukes of Hazard every week without fail. And last time I tried to watch it for fun, it sucked. It was basically the same story over and over again.

    But I really don’t think I was watching it for the plotline. Mostly just to see if I could see Bo Dukes junk in those tight wranglers.

    Comment by cookiebees | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  5. I think I watched it because I wanted to be Catherine Bach. She was like a grown up, brunette Barbie.

    Comment by SeaKat | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  6. Maxwell Caulfield is married to the crazy witch lady from “Passions.” (My dad was hooked on that show before he passed away.)

    He was also the skeazy singer in “Empire Records.”

    But really, who doesn’t want a cool rider?

    More importantly, as a little girl in Alabama, I TOTALLY wanted a General Lee.

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  7. Oh, I miss Passions dearly. I enjoy when oiled up men need to take their shirts off to do daily chores such as taking the trash out.

    Comment by cookiebees | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  8. Cait, as a grown-ass-woman in Kansas, I STILL want a General Lee!

    I wonder if I could fit a carseat through the racing doors…

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  9. Ooh cookiebees! I was actually thinking about Passions the other day when I read the Leanne Rimes/Eddie Cibrian story!

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  10. Okay, one of my fave movies from my childhood is “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.” Very young SJP and Helen Hunt..and an even younger, pre-90210 days Shannen Doherty.

    It stands up actually, even if it was Dirty Dancing meets Footloose meets American Bandstand.

    But mostly I’m afraid to watch childhood movies and have my bubble burst. Like “Weird Science”–tried watching it as an adult and just got really disturbed…but I’m going to go on a limb and say “Summer School” will still be good…maybe.

    Comment by TheHobo | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  11. Shu_shu – where in Kansas are you? My almost-husband is from eastern Kansas, and was just there this past weekend for his bachelor party!

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  12. Wasn’t Adrian Zmed on Passions? And also in Grease2?

    I know, I know…IMDB would be so easy. But not as easy as asking you gals… 😛

    Comment by SeaKat | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  13. Really? Small world. I’m from Topeka. Where’s your hubby-to-be from?

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  14. He’s from Emporia, and went to KSU. 🙂

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  15. Excellent! KSU is a good school (although, I do root for the Hawks). And I haven’t heard any reports of out of control bachelor parties in the Emporia area, so he must have behaved himself! 🙂

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  16. They did it over in Manhattan (complete with purple shirts reading “Manhappiness, KS” that I shipped up there as a surprise).

    And apart from an errant bachelorette party chasing them around Aggieville, they survived intact and unarrested. ::grin::

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  17. Oh wait…*THAT* bachelor party?!?!?!?!

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  18. Just kidding 😉

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  19. HAHA – his faux notoriety lives! 😉

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  20. I need a C-o-o-l-R-i-d-e-r!!

    Pardon me as I get down from my ladder I have been straddling in a sexy way to join in the convo on THAT bachelor party…

    Rumors have made their way up to KCK Cait… your hubby to be is CRAZY!! Okay, maybe not, but I just wanted to say I am in Kansas too Shu_shu.

    Jujubees I am going to have all these songs in my head all day…
    The Pink Ladies Pledge, to act cool, to look cool and to Beeee cool.

    Comment by payter | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  21. If you hit up my Facebook page you’ll see a link to his party photos. Most amusing.

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  22. Woot woot!!!! Kansas Represent!!!!! We certainly do know how to have a good time here in the Sunflower State.

    Cait I’ll have to track you down and give you a friend add so i can see THOSE pics! 🙂

    Comment by shu_shu | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  23. The faux-infamous bachelor party pics of pasty and tall Kansans wearing purple and drinking beer – veeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrah exciting, lambs.

    Comment by Cait | March 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

