uncollectedminds

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I Hate Things

Spreadsheets are sent from hell

ts-intoxitators-margWhy are spreadsheets so tedious and irritating?  Seriously, they irk me like nothing else. You spend hours inputting numbers into tiny little slots.

Ha, I said slots.

Any time you do a spreadsheet and submit to the person that asked you to do it, they always tell you that something needs to be changed. “I know I told you to do it that way but now I think you need to start over and make it look like this.” Great, farking great.

If I had absolute power I would do away with all spreadsheets. They would be replaced with booze and potato chips.


March 19, 2009 - Posted by | I Hate Things | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. booze and potato chips sounds like heaven.

    Comment by rumour has it | March 19, 2009 | Reply

  2. Spreadsheets. I could kill them so fast. Something ALWAYS has to be changed. And it’s something so stupid… could you just move that column a smidge that way? How about no? How about I leave instead? That sounds like a viable option to me.

    Comment by Chronically Constipated | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  3. How about, if you want something changed, you do the damn spreadsheet yourself in the first place?!

    My boss is THE. WORST.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  4. EXACTLY!!!! I think your boss and my boss grew up in a land of assholes otherwise known as the Butthole Surfers, except not as musically inclined.

    Comment by Chronically Constipated | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  5. I mean really, does it matter if that font is Times New Roman or Arial?

    Or, even worse, “can you change the order of the colums?” – Right, because the information changes if you wiggle it around. (And I’m a pretty sensible person, so my stuff is usually sensibly arranged.)

    Or the worstest, “You know what? How about I just send you a template for the format later this afternoon?” – So that I can REENTER all the crap again, so that it says the same thing in a different cell?

    FTW.

    Comment by AdmittedlyAddicted | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  6. My boss once handed me a list of names, some with business, and said “find contact information for these, and put it in a spread sheet.”

    So I googled the lot of them and found emails when I could, but mostly just business phone numbers, and did a massive copy and paste thing — but since it was a rush project for an email blast, and I was done at 3 am in the morning, I didn’t go through and make sure all the phone numbers were in the same format…that is, some were (xxx) xxx-xxxx and some were xxx.xxx.xxxx etc.

    He made me redo it to make the numbers all match. BTW he prefers the xxx.xxx.xxxx method.

    Comment by TheHobo | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. *businesses
    and “am in the morning” was redundant.

    And I am soooo very glad it’s Friday.

    Comment by TheHobo | March 20, 2009 | Reply

  8. The sad thing is that if he knew for crap, he could have highlighted the column and gone to format and just told it to format everything in that column like a phone number. Dickface boss! TheHobo, I feel for you.

    Comment by baby fish mouth | March 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

